How Many Amps Is The Service - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-16-2013, 11:13 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

how many amps is the service


The main box on the outside of the house has two 100 amps old style tube fuses. The inspector says that that is 100 amp service and a contractor says it is 200 amp service. Which is it?
Thanks

Advertisement

sc ott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 11:25 AM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,955
Rewards Points: 2,306
Default

how many amps is the service


100 amps.

Advertisement

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 11:54 AM   #3
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,335
Rewards Points: 3,464
Blog Entries: 4
Default

how many amps is the service


It is 100 amp service.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 12:01 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,510
Rewards Points: 2,008
Default

how many amps is the service


Don't hire that contractor.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to J. V. For This Useful Post:
jbfan (09-16-2013), mpoulton (09-16-2013), Speedy Petey (09-16-2013), stickboy1375 (09-16-2013)
Old 09-16-2013, 03:54 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 206
Rewards Points: 150
Default

how many amps is the service


definetly 100 amp, just because theres two fuses mean its 200 amps. sound like a really old service for fuses!
circuitman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 05:17 PM   #6
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,161
Rewards Points: 2,114
Default

how many amps is the service


What kind of contractor? Obviously not an Electrical type.
stickboy1375 is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to stickboy1375 For This Useful Post:
jbfan (09-16-2013), Speedy Petey (09-16-2013)
Old 09-16-2013, 06:00 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 772
Rewards Points: 500
Default

how many amps is the service


i suppose the transformer and service conductors could be sized for 200 amp but the fact that there are 100 amp fuses limits it to 100 amp.
itsnotrequired is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 06:44 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,699
Rewards Points: 2,358
Default

how many amps is the service


Isnt it 100a at 240v ?
And 200a at 120v ?
So it all depends on how you look at it !
dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to dmxtothemax For This Useful Post:
Philly Master (09-17-2013)
Old 09-16-2013, 07:03 PM   #9
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,222
Rewards Points: 2,354
Default

how many amps is the service


Quote:
Originally Posted by dmxtothemax View Post
Isnt it 100a at 240v ?
And 200a at 120v ?
So it all depends on how you look at it !
The service is 100 amps @ 240 volts. It is not rated at 120 volts.

That's like saying it is a 2 phase service because it has 2 hot legs 180 degrees out of phase from each other.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to rjniles For This Useful Post:
mpoulton (09-17-2013)
Old 09-16-2013, 08:23 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Eighty Four, Pa.15330
Posts: 1,398
Rewards Points: 794
Default

how many amps is the service


Hot Legs ...Rod Stewart.
bobelectric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2013, 12:06 AM   #11
Member
 
deverson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 145
Rewards Points: 77
Default

how many amps is the service


Take a photo of the meter socket. That may bring the service down to a 60 amp service.

Advertisement

deverson is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to deverson For This Useful Post:
mpoulton (09-17-2013)
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Moving service panel away from main service line entry k2000lbs Electrical 3 11-28-2011 09:39 AM
Need help on upgrading to 200 amp service drhard Electrical 9 10-31-2011 01:08 PM
Generator as sole power source NGuy Electrical 29 12-20-2008 01:29 AM
Grounding for two service entrances to same house. jogr Electrical 18 09-24-2008 11:31 AM
Question about sharing nuetral (as in 12/3) wire Piedmont Electrical 19 01-22-2008 09:39 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts