Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-16-2013, 10:13 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

how many amps is the service


The main box on the outside of the house has two 100 amps old style tube fuses. The inspector says that that is 100 amp service and a contractor says it is 200 amp service. Which is it?
Thanks

sc ott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 10:25 AM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,859
Rewards Points: 2,114
Default

how many amps is the service


100 amps.

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 10:54 AM   #3
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,855
Rewards Points: 2,504
Blog Entries: 4
Default

how many amps is the service


It is 100 amp service.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 11:01 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,508
Rewards Points: 2,004
Default

how many amps is the service


Don't hire that contractor.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to J. V. For This Useful Post:
jbfan (09-16-2013), mpoulton (09-16-2013), Speedy Petey (09-16-2013), stickboy1375 (09-16-2013)
Old 09-16-2013, 02:54 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 206
Rewards Points: 150
Default

how many amps is the service


definetly 100 amp, just because theres two fuses mean its 200 amps. sound like a really old service for fuses!
circuitman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 04:17 PM   #6
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,132
Rewards Points: 2,056
Default

how many amps is the service


What kind of contractor? Obviously not an Electrical type.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to stickboy1375 For This Useful Post:
jbfan (09-16-2013), Speedy Petey (09-16-2013)
Old 09-16-2013, 05:00 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 772
Rewards Points: 500
Default

how many amps is the service


i suppose the transformer and service conductors could be sized for 200 amp but the fact that there are 100 amp fuses limits it to 100 amp.
itsnotrequired is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 05:44 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,594
Rewards Points: 2,148
Default

how many amps is the service


Isnt it 100a at 240v ?
And 200a at 120v ?
So it all depends on how you look at it !
dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to dmxtothemax For This Useful Post:
Philly Master (09-17-2013)
Old 09-16-2013, 06:03 PM   #9
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,114
Rewards Points: 2,138
Default

how many amps is the service


Quote:
Originally Posted by dmxtothemax View Post
Isnt it 100a at 240v ?
And 200a at 120v ?
So it all depends on how you look at it !
The service is 100 amps @ 240 volts. It is not rated at 120 volts.

That's like saying it is a 2 phase service because it has 2 hot legs 180 degrees out of phase from each other.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to rjniles For This Useful Post:
mpoulton (09-16-2013)
Old 09-16-2013, 07:23 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Eighty Four, Pa.15330
Posts: 1,285
Rewards Points: 568
Default

how many amps is the service


Hot Legs ...Rod Stewart.
bobelectric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 11:06 PM   #11
Member
 
deverson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 138
Rewards Points: 75
Default

how many amps is the service


Take a photo of the meter socket. That may bring the service down to a 60 amp service.

deverson is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to deverson For This Useful Post:
mpoulton (09-16-2013)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Moving service panel away from main service line entry k2000lbs Electrical 3 11-28-2011 08:39 AM
Need help on upgrading to 200 amp service drhard Electrical 9 10-31-2011 12:08 PM
Generator as sole power source NGuy Electrical 29 12-20-2008 12:29 AM
Grounding for two service entrances to same house. jogr Electrical 18 09-24-2008 10:31 AM
Question about sharing nuetral (as in 12/3) wire Piedmont Electrical 19 01-22-2008 08:39 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.