Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-05-2009, 11:44 AM   #16
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 17
Share |
Default

How many amps is my sub-panel?


I really appreciate everyone's advice. I already have #4 copper going to the subpanel. Is this adequate for 90 amps?

yellowdog5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2009, 11:50 AM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Default

How many amps is my sub-panel?


Yes.



And tighten that locknut!

It is your grounding path.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2009, 12:38 PM   #18
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 17
Default

How many amps is my sub-panel?


OK I will! And thanks again for all the help.
yellowdog5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2009, 07:05 PM   #19
Member
 
Bigplanz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Louisville KY
Posts: 516
Default

How many amps is my sub-panel?


Quote:
Originally Posted by yellowdog5 View Post
I really appreciate everyone's advice. I already have #4 copper going to the subpanel. Is this adequate for 90 amps?
According to the ampacity chart link I posted, 85A is the max for #4 copper THW.
Bigplanz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2009, 07:19 PM   #20
DIYer
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 910
Default

How many amps is my sub-panel?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigplanz View Post
According to the ampacity chart link I posted, 85A is the max for #4 copper THW.
If 90A is the closer breaker they let you round up, I believe.
Gigs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2009, 01:19 AM   #21
Licensed Electrician
 
Magnettica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Rahway, NJ
Posts: 168
Send a message via Yahoo to Magnettica
Default

How many amps is my sub-panel?


Quote:
Originally Posted by yellowdog5 View Post
OK, it is a Zinsco, but I don't know how to find the model #. There is a UL numberA-4017. I am aware of the issues with Zinsco panels, but I do want to find out the amperage of this one, it is fed with #2 aluminum wire. Here are photos:

By yellowdog5, shot with Canon PowerShot A620 at 2009-05-04


By yellowdog5, shot with Canon PowerShot A620 at 2009-05-04
Guess the original installer ran out of white tape! And Penatrox!
__________________
Union County, NJ, Licensed Electrician
Classic Electric, LLC, Rahway, New Jersey
Magnettica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2009, 03:39 AM   #22
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 17
Default

How many amps is my sub-panel?


Yes, I'm not the original installer. I'll be marking the ones I can, but not if they're hot. Is Penatrox the same as Oxgard?
yellowdog5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2009, 06:04 AM   #23
Member
 
Bigplanz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Louisville KY
Posts: 516
Default

How many amps is my sub-panel?


If you're going to work on this hot I recommend you buy a pair of electrician's rubber gloves, and maybe even boots and a mat to stand on. You are seriously risking your life working on a hot panel like this. Oh, and arc flash is a big potential problem. Wear a face shield or at least safety glasses. A couple of years ago some guy here in Louisville was trying to pry a breaker out of a hot panel with a screw driver. The screw driver shorted out and BOOM! big shower of hot molten steel. Fortunately for him, he was wearing glasses, so he didn't lose his eyesight, but he burned off his eyebrows, suffered superficial flash burns and singed his hair. He was very lucky not to get killed. I urge you to get the POCO to pull the meter or disconnect something at the pole temporarily while you work on this, then install some sort of approved disconnect so you can isolate this panel in the future.
Bigplanz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2009, 09:05 AM   #24
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 17
Default

How many amps is my sub-panel?


Yes, I'm going to see if they'll disconnect for me, and if they won't I will take every precaution to insulate myself. I certainly won't be trying to remove a breaker with a screwdriver!!
yellowdog5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2009, 11:24 AM   #25
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,503
Default

How many amps is my sub-panel?


DO NOT TOUCH IT HOT. NOoooooo!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! STOP, THINK, and STOP again.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2009, 12:20 PM   #26
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Apple Valley, MN, USA
Posts: 999
Send a message via AIM to theatretch85
Default

How many amps is my sub-panel?


Quote:
Originally Posted by J. V. View Post
DO NOT TOUCH IT HOT. NOoooooo!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! STOP, THINK, and STOP again.
This is probably the best advice given here. No one should work on a panel replacement hot! Rubber gloves will only help to prevent you from being electrocuted, the big danger is the un-fused conductors and something called Arc Flash.

Google "Arc Flash" and watch some videos on it; working with un-fused conductors is NOT something for a DIY to do!!! You must call the poco and tell them to disconnect your service so that this can be done safely with all power removed!
theatretch85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2009, 04:06 PM   #27
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 17
Default

How many amps is my sub-panel?


You guys have my attention. I want to make it clear that I am not wanting to change the panel, only the breaker. Is this still really dumb and really dangerous?
yellowdog5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2009, 04:12 PM   #28
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Homestead,Pa
Posts: 109
Default

How many amps is my sub-panel?


Quote:
Originally Posted by yellowdog5 View Post
You guys have my attention. I want to make it clear that I am not wanting to change the panel, only the breaker. Is this still really dumb and really dangerous?
Yes still a very bad idea. I do not suggest anyone work on 15 and 20 amp circuits with the power on, let alone a line that is carrying 90amps. It is possible you would be fine; however, it is also possible that you will be severely burned or killed. Anything can happen, always air on the side of caution. Just my 2cents
Paelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2009, 04:31 PM   #29
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 17
Default

How many amps is my sub-panel?


Ok, It's going to be off, you have me convinced.

yellowdog5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Old House Rewire finnimus Electrical 15 05-13-2011 10:39 PM
This doesnt seem right. JoulesWinfield Electrical 27 07-26-2009 07:40 PM
Generator as sole power source NGuy Electrical 29 12-20-2008 12:29 AM
Max amps allowed - electrician advice needed Des Electrical 27 06-05-2008 10:31 PM
Replacement Meter Panel leonard_voet Electrical 19 04-09-2008 10:27 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.