Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-31-2013, 06:17 PM   #16
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,682
Rewards Points: 1,002
Default

How many amps does a dishwasher use?


Quote:
Originally Posted by word2yamutha View Post
Thanks for all the help guys. I did get a 1hp GB, but it runs at 7amps making it 15.1 amps total. I bought the 1/2 HP GB because I was afraid I was going to overload a circuit. Do you think I can go ahead and return the 1/2 HP GB and just keep the 1 HP GB?
According to the NEC a 1 HP GD has an FLA of 16A. A 1/2 HP GD has an FLA of 8A. I owuld be careful about putting a 1 HP on a shared circuit with a DW.

__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2013, 06:28 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: wright city, Missouri
Posts: 168
Rewards Points: 150
Default

How many amps does a dishwasher use?


I was just reading what it says on the garbage disposal itself
word2yamutha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2013, 08:22 PM   #18
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

How many amps does a dishwasher use?


I just wired up a dishwasher that was 3 phase 100A.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2013, 11:08 PM   #19
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,682
Rewards Points: 1,002
Default

How many amps does a dishwasher use?


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz
I just wired up a dishwasher that was 3 phase 100A.
Did you put it on the same circuit as the GD?
__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2013, 11:23 PM   #20
Electrical Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 725
Rewards Points: 500
Default

How many amps does a dishwasher use?


Quote:
Originally Posted by electures

Did you put it on the same circuit as the GD?
Kyle_in_rure is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2013, 11:47 PM   #21
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

How many amps does a dishwasher use?


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
I just wired up a dishwasher that was 3 phase 100A.
Now that is bad arse dishwasher there the motour load is not bad but the booster now that is the killer there.

Quote:
Originally Posted by electures View Post
Did you put it on the same circuit as the GD?
I don't know until I find out what Kbuz tell us what voltage it is.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kyle_in_rure View Post
Yeah maybe but just wait until someone mention 480 volt circuit now that is good source to go bonkers.

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2013, 05:24 AM   #22
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

How many amps does a dishwasher use?


It was 120/208V...on two separate circuits. One for the motor, and as French says, one for the booster heater.

__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
frenchelectrican (04-01-2013)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dishwasher Drain Install w/o Sink Lyndon Plumbing 3 11-21-2011 01:10 PM
Dishwasher connection and wiring, oh boy! Bigplanz Electrical 18 06-15-2011 09:52 PM
Generator as sole power source NGuy Electrical 29 12-20-2008 12:29 AM
Max amps allowed - electrician advice needed Des Electrical 27 06-05-2008 10:31 PM
Dishwasher placement jkrodger Remodeling 2 08-03-2007 02:32 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.