Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-11-2008, 07:02 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Question

how many amps do i have?


How do find out how many amps i have coming in to my circuit breaker.

ezrider58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2008, 07:08 PM   #2
Floor Sweeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Central MN
Posts: 359
Rewards Points: 250
Default

how many amps do i have?


Quote:
Originally Posted by ezrider58 View Post
How do find out how many amps i have coming in to my circuit breaker.
Are you talking about your main service panel?

junkcollector is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2008, 07:16 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

how many amps do i have?


Yes...coming into the main panel
ezrider58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2008, 07:31 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 25
Rewards Points: 10
Default

how many amps do i have?


With a clamp-on amp meter.
Joba Fett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2008, 08:09 PM   #5
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,864
Rewards Points: 2,032
Default

how many amps do i have?


You don't have any coming in. You have the potential to draw a certain amount.

The easiest way to tell is look at the number on the main breaker.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2008, 07:28 AM   #6
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,859
Rewards Points: 2,512
Blog Entries: 4
Default

how many amps do i have?


To find out how much have coming in at any specific time you need a clamp on meter. To find out the maximum you can have coming in you check the main breaker rating. It will have a number on each handle with the rating. DON"T add them together.

joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring a compressor scrapin Electrical 25 03-18-2012 11:35 PM
Generator as sole power source NGuy Electrical 29 12-20-2008 12:29 AM
Question about sharing nuetral (as in 12/3) wire Piedmont Electrical 19 01-22-2008 08:39 PM
Amps vs wattage moneymgmt Electrical 8 05-30-2007 07:13 PM
splitting 200 amps, help with parts please tuolumne Electrical 2 03-30-2007 12:09 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.