How Many Amps Can 6 THW Copper Handle - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-25-2011, 10:24 AM   #16
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

How many amps can 6 THW Copper handle


Quote:
Originally Posted by brric View Post
Panel will require a main if there are more than six breakers.
Good catch, I thought garage was attached when I said MLO.

Advertisement

Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2011, 10:28 AM   #17
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

How many amps can 6 THW Copper handle


Quote:
Originally Posted by dw1256 View Post



I think this is my last question. There are also some other wires that run out from the basement to the garage that power lights on side of the garage and the roof. They do not get any power from the load center, but they do run through the panel as if it were a junction box. Any idea if that is not allowed?

Thanks again. You have been very helpful.
If this garage is detached, now you got a problem here. More than 1 supply to a building.
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2011, 12:26 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 43
Rewards Points: 25
Default

How many amps can 6 THW Copper handle


Quote:
Originally Posted by Code05 View Post
You have a code book, it would be easier to explain.

I will see if I have a link.
I have access to the 2008 National Electric Code book.
dw1256 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2011, 12:29 PM   #19
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

How many amps can 6 THW Copper handle


Quote:
Originally Posted by dw1256 View Post
I have access to the 2008 National Electric Code book.
Go look at table 310.16.
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2011, 12:33 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 43
Rewards Points: 25
Default

How many amps can 6 THW Copper handle


Quote:
Originally Posted by Code05 View Post
If this garage is detached, now you got a problem here. More than 1 supply to a building.
The reason for this is because there are 3 way switches between the house and garage for certain lights. Is that not allowed?
dw1256 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2011, 12:44 PM   #21
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

How many amps can 6 THW Copper handle


Quote:
Originally Posted by dw1256 View Post
The reason for this is because there are 3 way switches between the house and garage for certain lights. Is that not allowed?
Only if the switches are fed from the garage or the wire feeding the lights does not enter the garage.
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Code05 For This Useful Post:
frenchelectrican (08-25-2011)
Old 08-25-2011, 01:37 PM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 43
Rewards Points: 25
Default

How many amps can 6 THW Copper handle


Quote:
Originally Posted by Code05 View Post
Only if the switches are fed from the garage or the wire feeding the lights does not enter the garage.
Let's say I rewired them so that they were using power from the garage. They can still be controlled by switches in the house, correct? Also, now that I have to use a panel with a main breaker due to the amount of breakers used, can I still make connections inside of this panel to wire the 3-ways?
dw1256 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2011, 01:49 PM   #23
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

How many amps can 6 THW Copper handle


Quote:
Originally Posted by dw1256 View Post
Let's say I rewired them so that they were using power from the garage. They can still be controlled by switches in the house, correct? Also, now that I have to use a panel with a main breaker due to the amount of breakers used, can I still make connections inside of this panel to wire the 3-ways?
Oui you can with three way switch however there will be a sticky item may come up is you will have no netural connection at the house side due some case you may want to change to timer but with convental three way switch you are fine but just make sure you do NOT steal house's netural conductor at all if you have electrionic timer.

{ note : my SOP is have seperated switch box or have two gang swtich box with divder in there so you know you can not get it mixed up at all }

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2011, 01:50 PM   #24
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

How many amps can 6 THW Copper handle


Hmmm. An argument could be made that the wire feed for the lights could be okay in addition to the feeder.

225.30(D) Different Characteristics. Additional feeders or
branch circuits shall be permitted for different voltages,
frequencies, or phases or for different uses, such as control
of outside lighting from multiple locations.


225.31 Disconnecting Means. Means shall be provided
for disconnecting all ungrounded conductors that supply or
pass through the building or structure.

225.33 Maximum Number of Disconnects.
(A) General. The disconnecting means for each supply
permitted by 225.30 shall consist of not more than six
switches or six circuit breakers mounted in a single enclosure,
in a group of separate enclosures, or in or on a switch-board.
There shall be no more than six disconnects per
supply grouped in any one location.

225.37 Identification. Where a building or structure has
any combination of feeders, branch circuits, or services
passing through it or supplying it, a permanent plaque or
directory shall be installed at each feeder and branch-circuit
disconnect location denoting all other services, feeders, or
branch circuits supplying that building or structure or passing
through that building or structure and the area served by
each.

225.38 Disconnect Construction. Disconnecting means
shall meet the requirements of 225.38(A) through (D).
Exception: For garages and outbuildings on residential
property, snap switches or 3-way or 4-way snap switches shall
be permitted as the disconnecting means.
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2011, 03:05 PM   #25
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Near Philly
Posts: 2,051
Rewards Points: 1,022
Default

How many amps can 6 THW Copper handle


I didn't think a breaker box could be used as a junction box for splicing wires that pass through and are not being protected for overload?
bob22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2011, 03:08 PM   #26
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

How many amps can 6 THW Copper handle


Quote:
Originally Posted by bob22 View Post
I didn't think a breaker box could be used as a junction box for splicing wires that pass through and are not being protected for overload?

312.8 Switch and Overcurrent Device Enclosures with
Splices, Taps, and Feed-Through Conductors. The wiring
space of enclosures for switches or overcurrent devices
shall be permitted for conductors feeding through, spliced,
or tapping off to other enclosures, switches, or overcurrent
devices where all of the following conditions are met:
(1) The total of all conductors installed at any cross section
of the wiring space does not exceed 40 percent of the
cross-sectional area of that space.
(2) The total area of all conductors, splices, and taps installed
at any cross section of the wiring space does not
exceed 75 percent of the cross-sectional area of that
space.
(3) A warning label is applied to the enclosure that identifies
the closest disconnecting means for any feedthrough
conductors

Advertisement

Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Code05 For This Useful Post:
bob22 (08-25-2011)
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Copper to Black Pipe Gas Connection dwolek HVAC 1 03-15-2010 06:02 PM
Copper hood - Looking for input steve1234 General DIY Discussions 13 01-04-2010 02:34 PM
Screen/Storm Door Handle Height Steven Z. General DIY Discussions 2 11-22-2009 05:38 PM
copper strap around copper pipe? analogmusicman Plumbing 3 06-04-2008 11:55 AM
Debate - Pex vs Copper sandy2982 Plumbing 13 04-10-2008 11:47 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts