Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-01-2008, 10:52 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

how many amps


In new construction how many amps is usual for a kitchen these days?

astounded is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2008, 11:14 AM   #2
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,545
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

how many amps


If you keep the kitchen clean from day one, amps won't be much of a problem, but be aware, they are devious pests, and can infiltrate your kitchen at any time. I would guess for every one you see, there are 10 to 20 thousand lurking behind the walls. Try spreading eucalyptus leaves around the perimeter of the room, I hear that may help.


__________________
"Life is hard. Life is harder when you're stupid." John Wayne
HouseHelper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2008, 12:17 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 200
Rewards Points: 150
Default

how many amps


Quote:
Originally Posted by astounded View Post
In new construction how many amps is usual for a kitchen these days?
Millions of them in the walls, and outdoors just waiting to get in.
JGarth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2008, 12:27 PM   #4
When is fishing season?
 
CowboyAndy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 613
Rewards Points: 500
Default

how many amps


Quote:
Originally Posted by astounded View Post
In new construction how many amps is usual for a kitchen these days?
Since no one else was serious, I'll be.

There is no answer for your question. That's like asking how much gas a car uses. It all depends on how much you use it.

Electric range? Dishwasher? Disposal? Do you cook with a hot plate every night? Microwave everything?

There is no simple answer.

There are REQWIREMENTS though. Minimum of 2 small appliance branch circuits at 20AMPS each, among others.
__________________
I DON'T OWN MY HOUSE...
MY HOUSE OWNS ME!
CowboyAndy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2008, 12:44 PM   #5
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,545
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

how many amps


Quote:
Originally Posted by CowboyAndy View Post
Since no one else was serious, I'll be.
How can you take a question like that seriously today of all days?
__________________
"Life is hard. Life is harder when you're stupid." John Wayne

Last edited by HouseHelper; 04-01-2008 at 02:33 PM.
HouseHelper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2008, 01:42 PM   #6
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,877
Rewards Points: 2,108
Default

how many amps


Quote:
Originally Posted by HouseHelper View Post
If you keep the kitchen clean from day one, amps won't be much of a problem, but be aware, they are devious pests, and can infiltrate your kitchen at any time. I would guess for every one you see, there are 10 to 20 thousand lurking behind the walls. Try spreading eucalyptus leaves around the perimeter of the room, I hear that may help.
DAMN! I LOVE today! (4/1)

I vote this P.O.D.!
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2008, 02:01 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

how many amps


Approximately 1.21 Gigawatts. Somone else can covert to Amps. Oh, nevermind, that's time travel. Sorry.

Last edited by jerryh3; 04-01-2008 at 02:05 PM.
jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2008, 03:43 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

how many amps


2 x 20 for the SABC, 1 x 20 for the dw/disp, 1 x 20 for the microwave, 1 x 40 for the double oven, 1 x 30 for the cooktop.

That is 150 total
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2008, 02:47 PM   #9
Licensed Electrician
 
jrclen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 982
Rewards Points: 500
Default

how many amps


Quote:
Originally Posted by 220/221 View Post
2 x 20 for the SABC, 1 x 20 for the dw/disp, 1 x 20 for the microwave, 1 x 40 for the double oven, 1 x 30 for the cooktop.

That is 150 total
But I only have a 100 amp service.
jrclen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2008, 02:52 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

how many amps


Quote:
Originally Posted by jrclen View Post
But I only have a 100 amp service.
Then you'll need to call an electrician and have them install a 500 or 600 amp service. Whatever the total of the breakers happen to be.
jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2008, 05:24 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

how many amps


The main is 200 amps. Do I count that as well?
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2008, 05:37 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

how many amps


Quote:
Originally Posted by 220/221 View Post
The main is 200 amps. Do I count that as well?
You have to double it since it's 240.
jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2008, 01:50 AM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

how many amps


Well the expected happened. The inspector came out and refused to sign off and added four more issues. Apparently my contractor who has a B license did not realise we are following international codes. Thought everything was normal. Inspector said we need a licensed electrician to solve the difficulties. LOL
So anyway my amperage problem has been solved, along with my light dimming problems in another post.
I also did not know I needed two GFIs on opposite sides of the house outside- that is new- plus a wired smoke alarm in every bedroom and hallway.
Also he said we need a GFI anywhere there is countertop. I was going GFI anywhere there was water. So hey.
By the way, Nail and 220/221 you both were right on in everything you said.
Thanks,
Mary
astounded is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2008, 07:25 AM   #14
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,877
Rewards Points: 2,108
Default

how many amps


If you had a real electrician do this he would have been well aware of what codes you are following.
The codes you mentioned have been in place many years now.
The counter GFI issue is not that you need a GFI at each location, you need GFI protection for all kitchen counter receptacles.

BTW, where are you located? Are you in NY or Pa?
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2008, 11:07 AM   #15
Licensed Electrician
 
jrclen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 982
Rewards Points: 500
Default

how many amps


I got a job like this last week. The house was roughed in by a handyman, including the service. The inspector red tagged the job and wrote, "hire an electrician" on the sticker. The homeowner called me. I passed the rough in and service inspection this morning. The home owner asked the inspector if the handyman could still do the trim. The inspector laughed and told him it was his money to waste, and to keep my number handy. The licensed plumber is due on the job later today to bring the plumbing up to code.

jrclen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring a compressor scrapin Electrical 25 03-19-2012 12:35 AM
Generator as sole power source NGuy Electrical 29 12-20-2008 01:29 AM
Question about sharing nuetral (as in 12/3) wire Piedmont Electrical 19 01-22-2008 09:39 PM
Amps vs wattage moneymgmt Electrical 8 05-30-2007 08:13 PM
splitting 200 amps, help with parts please tuolumne Electrical 2 03-30-2007 01:09 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.