Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-24-2012, 05:57 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles County
Posts: 204
Share |
Default

How many amps is 10-2 romex safe for?


length of up to 100 feet

jackwashere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 06:00 PM   #2
DIY Enthusiast
 
sublime2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,086
Default

How many amps is 10-2 romex safe for?


I believe its 40.
Correction......30.


Last edited by sublime2; 10-24-2012 at 06:26 PM.
sublime2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 06:02 PM   #3
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,336
Default

How many amps is 10-2 romex safe for?


30 Amps, but I have to ask what you are using 10-2 for. It is an odd choice and doesn't have many uses.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 06:15 PM   #4
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 13,845
Default

How many amps is 10-2 romex safe for?


http://cerrowire.com/ampacity-charts
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 06:43 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles County
Posts: 204
Default

How many amps is 10-2 romex safe for?


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
but I have to ask what you are using 10-2 for. It is an odd choice and doesn't have many uses.
Illegal 10x12. Caretaker cottage at a construction site while the main house is being built (but it will probably be used and stick around later). County says you can build whatever you want without forgiveness or permission as long as it's under 120 sq. ft. So I built a small 10x12 and next to it a 8x10 bathroom. I have a 120V 20 gallon water heater and a small space heater.

The choice was decided by the HD Supply manager. The wire was on clearance. I gave him some ridiculously low price for 250 feet. He agreed. It's outdoor wire. The only problem was getting it to go through conduit. Big headache! But that's already a done deal.
jackwashere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 06:59 PM   #6
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 13,845
Default

How many amps is 10-2 romex safe for?


If it is UF (Underground Feeder), you cannot run it in conduit, unless it is to protect going into a junction box on a wall. You are fine at 30 amps for 100 feet, but do not expect to run a microwave, tv, lights, room heater all at the same on a 110 volt circuit, if only 10/2.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 07:10 PM   #7
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,779
Default

How many amps is 10-2 romex safe for?


You can run UF in conduit, what you CANNOT do is wire a general purpose lighting and receptacle circuit to a 30A breaker, regardless if the wire is #10.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 7 Users Say Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
electures (10-24-2012), frenchelectrican (10-24-2012), jbfan (10-24-2012), Jim Port (10-24-2012), jrclen (10-25-2012), mpoulton (10-24-2012), stickboy1375 (10-26-2012)
Old 10-24-2012, 07:11 PM   #8
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,779
Default

How many amps is 10-2 romex safe for?


Quote:
Originally Posted by jackwashere View Post

The choice was decided by the HD Supply manager.
NOT the best source for electrical advice.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 10 Users Say Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
brric (10-24-2012), electures (10-25-2012), frenchelectrican (10-24-2012), gregzoll (10-24-2012), jbfan (10-24-2012), Jim Port (10-24-2012), jrclen (10-25-2012), Missouri Bound (10-24-2012), mpoulton (10-24-2012), stickboy1375 (10-26-2012)
Old 10-24-2012, 10:09 PM   #9
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,617
Default

How many amps is 10-2 romex safe for?


A perfect example.
__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 10:52 PM   #10
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,526
Default

How many amps is 10-2 romex safe for?


You really should have 10-3, which would let you install a small subpanel to run whatever you need out there. A 30A 120/240V feeder would run a small water heater plus two or three general purpose 15A 120V circuits with no problem. But without that extra conductor in 10-3, you're limited to half the total load, and it's harder to set it up well.
__________________
I am a lawyer, but not your lawyer. And who cares anyways? We're here to talk construction. This is DIY advice, not legal advice.
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 01:14 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles County
Posts: 204
Default

How many amps is 10-2 romex safe for?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
what you CANNOT do is wire a general purpose lighting and receptacle circuit to a 30A breaker, regardless if the wire is #10.
Grumble grumble! You're correct and yet that is exactly what I need to do.

So I guess I'll have to install a local load center with two breakers? To distribute the 30A into 20A and 10A cirucuits?
jackwashere is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jackwashere For This Useful Post:
Speedy Petey (10-25-2012)
Old 10-25-2012, 01:21 PM   #12
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,397
Default

How many amps is 10-2 romex safe for?


The smallest breaker you will find would be a 15 amp.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 01:23 PM   #13
Licensed Electrician
 
jrclen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 982
Default

How many amps is 10-2 romex safe for?


Quote:
Originally Posted by jackwashere View Post
So I guess I'll have to install a local load center with two breakers? To distribute the 30A into 20A and 10A cirucuits?
20 and or 15. Yes, that is what you need to do. Those two breakers can add up to more than 30 as long as the #10 is protected by no more than a 30 amp at the source.
__________________
John
jrclen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 03:32 PM   #14
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 3,935
Default

How many amps is 10-2 romex safe for?


Wait to see what he says when he finds he also needs 2 ground rods for that sub
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to rjniles For This Useful Post:
electures (10-25-2012)
Old 10-25-2012, 04:00 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles County
Posts: 204
Default

How many amps is 10-2 romex safe for?


Quote:
Originally Posted by rjniles View Post
Wait to see what he says when he finds he also needs 2 ground rods for that sub
The 10/2 has a ground.

jackwashere is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help with Light Fixture - Braided Romex, possible Arc, is wiring safe? cntnick Electrical 5 03-17-2010 11:22 AM
Generator as sole power source NGuy Electrical 29 12-20-2008 12:29 AM
Cost Difference Between Conduit & Romex Shawns4 Electrical 39 08-25-2008 05:01 PM
Question about sharing nuetral (as in 12/3) wire Piedmont Electrical 19 01-22-2008 08:39 PM
Gun Safe vs. Floor Joists allen1466 Building & Construction 9 03-03-2006 08:16 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.