Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-07-2013, 10:40 AM   #16
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,132
Rewards Points: 2,056
Default

How many 20 amp outlets on a circuit?


There is NO maximum limit to the amount of receptacles on a branch circuit in a residence in the US....

stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2013, 10:40 AM   #17
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,132
Rewards Points: 2,056
Default

How many 20 amp outlets on a circuit?


Quote:
Originally Posted by bobelectric View Post
Every receptacle rated 180 v.a. x 10 =1800 watts, 20 amp 120 volt circuit=2400 watt.
only in a NON-residence application.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to stickboy1375 For This Useful Post:
brric (09-07-2013), jbfan (09-08-2013)
Old 09-08-2013, 04:56 AM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Eighty Four, Pa.15330
Posts: 1,284
Rewards Points: 566
Default

How many 20 amp outlets on a circuit?


Quote:
Originally Posted by biddlecom View Post
I have a room that I will be putting 7 to 8 20 amp outlets in. Is 8 outlets to many to have on 1 circuit or should I split it 4 and 4?

Thanks for all the help that everyone has been giving me in this forum.
I like to keep every room on it's own circuit.I have receptacles in my home that are still virgins.
bobelectric is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to bobelectric For This Useful Post:
plummen (09-08-2013)
Old 09-08-2013, 06:48 AM   #19
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,132
Rewards Points: 2,056
Default

How many 20 amp outlets on a circuit?


Quote:
Originally Posted by bobelectric View Post
I like to keep every room on it's own circuit.I have receptacles in my home that are still virgins.
Complete waste, but to each their own...
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to stickboy1375 For This Useful Post:
Speedy Petey (09-08-2013)
Old 09-08-2013, 11:29 AM   #20
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,859
Rewards Points: 2,114
Default

How many 20 amp outlets on a circuit?


The national code has no restrictions to how many receptacles per circuit, local code may and some do have limits.
Check with the building department where you live.

Add your location, and someone may know the area and have a correct answer.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2013, 01:15 PM   #21
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,911
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

How many 20 amp outlets on a circuit?


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
Complete waste, but to each their own...
Same way Ive always done it also.
Makes it a lot easier to work on things down the road so youre not chasing your tail looking for problems.
__________________
"facts" have no relevance to this discusion
Posting from a concrete bunker under a non descript barn
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2013, 03:06 PM   #22
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

How many 20 amp outlets on a circuit?


Quote:
Originally Posted by plummen View Post
Same way Ive always done it also.
Makes it a lot easier to work on things down the road so youre not chasing your tail looking for problems.
It also adds a ton of expense due to AFCI breakers....just sayin'
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
Oso954 (09-08-2013)
Old 09-08-2013, 03:41 PM   #23
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,911
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

How many 20 amp outlets on a circuit?


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
It also adds a ton of expense due to AFCI breakers....just sayin'
I just tell em it saves time down when you have a service guy charging you $150.00hr in the middle of the night trying to track down a loose neutral wire thats in a box 3 rooms down the hall.
It makes life so much easier on the service side of the trade with the plugs/lighting on 1 circuit in general rooms.
I had an old lady that called me to wire up her new walk out tub a while back .
After I finished the tub she starts complaining to me about her outside plug next to the ac not working,so I traced it down to a junk gfi in the bathroom that was feeding it.
She proceeds to go off on me about why in the world would anybody feed that off a bathroom plug...............
I told her that was typical for atleast the last 20years anyway,but if it had been me I wouldve just ran a homerun to the panel that was 5' directly to the left of place they went up through the basement ceiling to feed it into the bathroom,since there were still 6-7 empty spaces in the panel and just stuck a $10.00 gfi in place of the outlet outside myself.
By the time you figure the extra labor it took to fish that into the bathroom back in 1999 when they rewired the house for the lady they didnt save her any time/money doing it the other way.
__________________
"facts" have no relevance to this discusion
Posting from a concrete bunker under a non descript barn
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2013, 04:00 PM   #24
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,911
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

How many 20 amp outlets on a circuit?


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
It also adds a ton of expense due to AFCI breakers....just sayin'
I quit doing most new residential new construction 20 years ago due to the fact the builders were only interested in cheap/fast,it didnt matter if it was the wiring/plumbing or hvac I realized there was no money to be made for a hard headed anal retentive /picky prick bastard like me!
So I started doing service work and remodel work for certain builders and customers who understood my way of doing things and werent afraid to spend money now to save a lot later down the road.
Ive done everything from habitat for humanity houses to million dollar plus houses on the residential side,and I wire them all the same way.
Same for commercial and industrial work,Ive worked in buildings where even the rats wouldnt live and Ive also done multi million dollar school and hospital projects.
Ive taken it in the shorts on labor many times over the years on labor,but I refuse to lower my standards on materials or how things are installed .
Now that Ive been retired a while now its even easier to get people to see things my way on materials and how they get installed,since most of the time I just make them feed me for the labor.
What can I say service work was good to me all those years now I can screw off and play with old cars/trucks/motorcycles or anything that keeps me occupied!
__________________
"facts" have no relevance to this discusion
Posting from a concrete bunker under a non descript barn
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2013, 03:24 PM   #25
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 772
Rewards Points: 500
Default

How many 20 amp outlets on a circuit?


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
The national code has no restrictions to how many receptacles per circuit, local code may and some do have limits.
Check with the building department where you live.

Add your location, and someone may know the area and have a correct answer.
probably the best advice in the thread. while technically no limit for non-residential in the us, you'll be hard-pressed to find an inspector that would pass, say, 30 receptacles on one circuit. when i finished my basement, i specifically asked the inspector this question up-front and she said she likes to see no more than ten on a circuit. no requirement in the code and i could 'fight it' if i wanted to but is it really worth getting into it with the inspector? i always planned on two circuits for receptacles anyway (basement is about 1100 sq ft) but it was good info to know up front.
itsnotrequired is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2013, 03:29 PM   #26
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

How many 20 amp outlets on a circuit?


They can't enforce something they "want" to see. At no point in my 1000's of inspections did an inspector ask me or count how many receptacles were on any circuit.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
plummen (09-12-2013), Speedy Petey (09-12-2013), stickboy1375 (09-12-2013), wirenut1110 (09-12-2013)
Old 09-12-2013, 03:38 PM   #27
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 772
Rewards Points: 500
Default

How many 20 amp outlets on a circuit?


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
They can't enforce something they "want" to see. At no point in my 1000's of inspections did an inspector ask me or count how many receptacles were on any circuit.
i know, i know, i know but it can't hurt to ask, at least for a diyer.

i'm presently building an outdoor sauna and putting a sub out there (not in it, of course). sub will have branch circuits for the heater, lights and a couple receps. she said i need a main disconnect, i said the three branch circuit breakers count as the disconnect. she doesn't agree. i let it slide for now since i'm not ready for electrical anyway but you can bet i'll be bringing back the topic.
itsnotrequired is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2013, 05:26 PM   #28
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,132
Rewards Points: 2,056
Default

How many 20 amp outlets on a circuit?


Quote:
Originally Posted by itsnotrequired View Post
i know, i know, i know but it can't hurt to ask, at least for a diyer.

i'm presently building an outdoor sauna and putting a sub out there (not in it, of course). sub will have branch circuits for the heater, lights and a couple receps. she said i need a main disconnect, i said the three branch circuit breakers count as the disconnect. she doesn't agree. i let it slide for now since i'm not ready for electrical anyway but you can bet i'll be bringing back the topic.
It really is this simple, the inspector needs to site the code article you failed to abide by... I cannot stress this enough, the NEC is a permissive document, so she HAS to site the code violation you violated... Simply telling you it's wrong is not enough.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2013, 05:38 PM   #29
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,049
Rewards Points: 500
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

How many 20 amp outlets on a circuit?


Quote:
Originally Posted by itsnotrequired View Post
sub will have branch circuits for the heater, lights and a couple receps. she said i need a main disconnect, i said the three branch circuit breakers count as the disconnect. she doesn't agree.
I agree with her if the panel has more than 6 spaces.
wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2013, 05:39 PM   #30
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,132
Rewards Points: 2,056
Default

How many 20 amp outlets on a circuit?


Quote:
Originally Posted by wirenut1110 View Post
I agree with her if the panel has more than 6 spaces.
You still cannot enforce future code violations, they either exist now, or they do not.... The inspector, to do their job properly, MUST site the existing code violation... a panel with more than 6 spaces is just not a violation unless one is created...

That's like saying you can install more cables in a single gang box and create a box fill violation at a later date....


Last edited by stickboy1375; 09-12-2013 at 05:43 PM.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to stickboy1375 For This Useful Post:
itsnotrequired (09-16-2013), plummen (09-12-2013)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Basement Circuit - Lights & outlets Jallolo Electrical 20 08-27-2013 09:04 AM
outlets on one circuit dixallen Electrical 4 02-16-2013 08:59 PM
Dimming lights on one circuit, GFCI breaker tripped boatman537 Electrical 4 06-05-2012 10:43 AM
120-V outlets and 240-V outlet on same double-pole circuit? Daneel Electrical 24 04-03-2012 11:22 PM
how many outlets do you recommend on 15A circuit? Jeremy Hillary Boob, PhD Electrical 10 03-03-2012 11:16 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.