Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-12-2011, 09:03 PM   #31
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

How to Know if you have a 20 amp circuit


You all realize that we have a two page thread that has covered this topic quite well. I wonder what the OP will think when he/she logs back in to check on an answer to the original question

Quote:
Originally Posted by sitkasassy View Post
I am considering buying a commercial grade treadmill that has the following power requirements: 120 Volt/20 Amp Dedicated (NEMA 5-20 Receptacle)

a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2011, 09:16 PM   #32
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

How to Know if you have a 20 amp circuit


Quote:
Originally Posted by nap View Post
what do ya mean they aren't cheap? Mine are free!! but I only have to take one each time Michigan accepts a new code cycle.
I get flyers in the mail all the time for courses that cost several hundred dollars for 5 hours of CE credits. I throw those into the "circular file"

Inspection agencies around here routinely offer 5 hour courses for $75-100 each. Occasionally, a local supply house or trade association will "sponsor" a code class for a reduced rate -- I took one recently for $54. A bargain by any standards, but beyond what most DIY's are willing to pay.

As for yours being "free" I highly doubt that -- it's probably included in the price of your license renewal fees.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2011, 10:42 PM   #33
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

How to Know if you have a 20 amp circuit


Quote:
Originally Posted by kbsparky View Post

As for yours being "free" I highly doubt that -- it's probably included in the price of your license renewal fees.
Nope. Union puts it on. No charge
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2011, 06:39 AM   #34
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

How to Know if you have a 20 amp circuit


Well, then it's UNION DUES that pays for it!

TANSTAAFL!!

__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need a wiring diagram Mooreski Electrical 46 03-12-2011 03:25 PM
open circuit unknown location / voltage leakage fishmanflats Electrical 4 12-23-2009 09:04 PM
Home Theater Dedicated Circuit rjschwar Electrical 20 12-16-2009 12:42 PM
Changing a 3 way circuit...using recessed lighting box as a junction box? Oxymoron Electrical 1 12-07-2009 06:46 PM
Circuit out but circuit breaker didn't trip PaulenAndrew Electrical 17 08-16-2008 08:38 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.