Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-11-2012, 01:07 PM   #1
Dumbass willing to learn
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: North Eastern North Carolina
Posts: 21
Share |
Question

Is this how its done?


Hello. I am in the process of remodeling a workshop into an apartment and I was looking for some information. As I have gutted it, I have found several things that I was concerned about and figured I would post pics on here to see if I was right or wrong. Any information would be greatly appreciated.
Attached Thumbnails
Is this how its done?-james-pics-2413.jpg   Is this how its done?-james-pics-2310.jpg  
Attached Images
 

Contractormedic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 01:11 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Phoenix AZ
Posts: 452
Default

Is this how its done?


Looks like the conduit was existing and someone decided to frame a wall out and just notched around the existing. So it most definitely isn't typical.. So is this in a basement or the structure has block walls above grade?

CopperClad is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to CopperClad For This Useful Post:
Contractormedic (07-11-2012)
Old 07-11-2012, 01:17 PM   #3
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,336
Default

Is this how its done?


You cannot have any buried electrical boxes...all have to remain accessible.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
Contractormedic (07-11-2012)
Old 07-11-2012, 01:27 PM   #4
Dumbass willing to learn
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: North Eastern North Carolina
Posts: 21
Default

Is this how its done?


@Copperclad: This is how the work was done. It has concrete block walls, above grade. Electrical was run first (had temp service so he could do it all), then framed and insulated around the electrical, then drywalled. This is how he did it. Could have done the framing first but chose not to.

@kbuzz: Thanks for the info. I appreciate it.
Contractormedic is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.