Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-26-2011, 01:14 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

How to install receptacle for vintage range/oven


Want to test and use a beautiful 1950s range/oven in my kitchen and need to install correct receptacle

My 1978 vtg house has built in wall oven and cooktop. Panel has 50A breaker for range and 40A breaker for wall oven.

The cooktop (replaced probably 10 years ago) with flex-conduit connects to a box mounted to back wall underneath and there is a black wire, a red wire and a bare copper wire. House wiring has the two wires plus a gray metal stranded thick wire. Connections are big wirenuts.

I purchased a 3-slot 50A range receptacle which matches the cord plug on my early 1950s range/oven (10.9 kw)

I'd like to disconnect the cooktop and wire in the recptacle to plug in test the vintage range/oven.

My plan is to eventually reconfigure my kitchen cabinets so as to use the vintage range/oven instead of the built in cook top

Can this be done? and which wires connect to which terminal screws in my three prong receptacle?.....many thanks!!!

retroJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2011, 01:25 PM   #2
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 13,733
Default

How to install receptacle for vintage range/oven


Why not test it in the garage. No need to go through all of that and find out after, that it is not what you want. Also, 10.9 kw is a large load. Where did you get that info from?

__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2011, 01:31 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 2
Default

How to install receptacle for vintage range/oven


There's a metal info plate which says: 115/230 - 120/240 - 3w 60 cycles 11.9 kw (not 10.9, oops)

I'm not sure about getting into the panel to make a connection. The kitchen seems to be a real easy way to go. But what would you suggest?

Thank you
retroJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2011, 10:18 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 84
Default

How to install receptacle for vintage range/oven


You should inspect the old range wiring before installation. It may be cracked from overheating or simply gone bad with age. Some of the early plastics did not hold up as well as today's plastics. Assuming everything looks okay, you might also think about asbestos. This was used in most 1950's ranges for general insulation and also for some of the high-temperature wiring. Old ranges also sometimes have issues with their clocks and timers. These can often be rebuilt or replaced, but NOS parts are not always available, and you may need to get these rebuilt by someone who specializes in the rebuilding of old range timers and clocks. Burner controls can usually be replaced with modern "stepless" controls if desired and without too much trouble. Some burner elements are no longer made and hard to find replacements for. These could be converted over to a more modern burner type but some mechanical modifications might be necessary to do such changes. If the range has been rebuilt with modern materials then these issues would probably be moot.
Perry401 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Perry401 For This Useful Post:
retroJ (09-27-2011)
Old 09-27-2011, 03:46 PM   #5
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 13,733
Default

How to install receptacle for vintage range/oven


11.9 kwis still a large load. Post a picture of the plate from this oven. That would mean that the oven uses 11,900 watts, is why I am curious.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
3 prong stove receptacle, old stove wiring, range plug in, vintage stove


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring a receptacle for a lift station hydrogeo99 Electrical 4 08-18-2010 01:04 AM
Using a multimeter to test a 50 amp receptacle WendyS Electrical 12 01-22-2010 08:10 AM
changing 3 prong receptacle to 4 prong WendyS Electrical 12 01-17-2010 08:59 PM
Preparing to install Kerdi on bathtub surround DIY-Renovator Flooring 18 07-17-2008 10:42 AM
20A or 15A receptacle ejlog Electrical 3 02-21-2005 06:29 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.