How To Install Device Box - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-11-2012, 10:07 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

how to install device box


I feel really stupid asking this question, but how do you install this device box to a wood stud?? Am I missing something here? Could it be that the device box is meant for rework?

There are two holes on each of the sides near the back, but the box ends up crooked when I use those holes.

Take a look at the pic and let me know what you think. Thanks!



Advertisement

spaz619 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2012, 10:20 AM   #2
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

how to install device box


Depending on the application, you need either an old work box, or a box with a bracket for new installations. That box is an "add on box" The side is removable so you can create a longer box using more of the same type. It's not what you want to use.

Advertisement

Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2012, 10:22 AM   #3
MarginallyQualified
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 3,797
Rewards Points: 2,268
Default

how to install device box


Quote:
Originally Posted by spaz619 View Post
...but how do you install this device box to a wood stud?? You don't.
Am I missing something here? Yes.
99.987% of residential work will use ROMEX wire and plastic boxes.
The most common new work plastic box is the "nail in". Get some.
Attached Thumbnails
how to install device box-p_scw_168_04.jpg  
TarheelTerp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2012, 10:22 AM   #4
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,258
Rewards Points: 1,012
Default

how to install device box


Yeah, that type of box requires metal straps and is meant to be mounted to existing drywall. You want a "new work" box, and if you have nm (romex) cable, it can be plastic:

__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2012, 10:23 AM   #5
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,258
Rewards Points: 1,012
Default

how to install device box


You beat me, tarheel.
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2012, 10:25 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

how to install device box


Quote:
Originally Posted by TarheelTerp View Post
99.987% of residential work will use ROMEX wire and plastic boxes.
The most common new work plastic box is the "nail in". Get some.

Do plastic boxes come in 1 1/2" deep?

Homedepot only seems to sell the metal ones in 1 1/2"
spaz619 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2012, 11:03 AM   #7
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,545
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

how to install device box


That box is mounted by driving nails through the holes in the sides, entering one side, passing through the box, and exiting the other side. It is intended for new work only.
__________________
"Life is hard. Life is harder when you're stupid." John Wayne
HouseHelper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2012, 11:17 AM   #8
MarginallyQualified
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 3,797
Rewards Points: 2,268
Default

how to install device box


Quote:
Originally Posted by spaz619 View Post
Do plastic boxes come in 1 1/2" WIDE?
Homedepot only seems to sell the metal ones in 1 1/2" WIDE
Print out that picture and take it with you to the store.
You'll find them. (Look low for the big boxes at floor level)
TarheelTerp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2012, 06:35 PM   #9
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,004
Rewards Points: 2,806
Default

how to install device box


You may be able to find that box with a side bracket that could screw to the stud.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2012, 07:38 PM   #10
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,976
Rewards Points: 2,208
Default

how to install device box


Quote:
Originally Posted by spaz619 View Post
I feel really stupid asking this question, but how do you install this device box to a wood stud?? Am I missing something here? Could it be that the device box is meant for rework?

There are two holes on each of the sides near the back, but the box ends up crooked when I use those holes.

Take a look at the pic and let me know what you think. Thanks!


Use the box you have with 2 16 penny nails through the holes in the box driven into the stud.
brric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2012, 08:19 PM   #11
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

how to install device box


See pic
Attached Thumbnails
how to install device box-nails.jpg  
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to kbsparky For This Useful Post:
brric (01-11-2012)
Old 01-11-2012, 08:21 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada (s/w ON.)
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

how to install device box


On some occasions I have removed one side plate, and driven screws through the holes at the rear of the box, then replaced the side plate.

Advertisement

Wildie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Aprilaire 560 Install Questions MisterTFM HVAC 4 12-15-2011 01:35 PM
Help with new construction window install pac127 Windows and Doors 1 09-26-2011 09:36 AM
When to install tile flooring? MT Stringer Remodeling 4 10-28-2008 09:49 PM
How to install resilient channel on ceiling Bcoleman6 Building & Construction 1 08-22-2008 03:29 PM
Fiberock install STUPID Flooring 5 10-16-2007 07:29 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts