Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-02-2011, 11:56 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Question

How increase the length of wire to line connection


I need to extent the wires on a power supply in a luminaire so that they reach the supply voltage in a remote junction box. They are 14g stranded copper. Can I solder on wires with the additional length I need and then use shrink tubing around the joint or do I have to use wire nuts or both.

Thanks,

Dale

wdrrob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2011, 12:01 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 170
Rewards Points: 150
Default

How increase the length of wire to line connection


Google "vinyl insulated butt splices"

Broughton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2011, 12:32 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 127
Rewards Points: 75
Default

How increase the length of wire to line connection


Quote:
Originally Posted by wdrrob View Post
I need to extent the wires on a power supply in a luminaire so that they reach the supply voltage in a remote junction box. They are 14g stranded copper. Can I solder on wires with the additional length I need and then use shrink tubing around the joint or do I have to use wire nuts or both.

Thanks,

Dale
You can't hide junction points in the wall. Butt splices or any other kind of splice you may use. You need a junction box and it has to be accessible.
CheapCharlie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2011, 01:09 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 170
Rewards Points: 150
Default

How increase the length of wire to line connection


Quote:
Originally Posted by CheapCharlie

You can't hide junction points in the wall. Butt splices or any other kind of splice you may use. You need a junction box and it has to be accessible.
That is a good point. Thank goodness multiple people look at these posts!
Broughton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2011, 01:12 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

How increase the length of wire to line connection


Ok. That's what I figured. All of this will be done in an aluminum enclosure that contains the PS and and is accessible. So the next question is, what defines a junction box?
wdrrob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2011, 01:58 PM   #6
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,293
Rewards Points: 2,248
Default

How increase the length of wire to line connection


Quote:
Originally Posted by wdrrob View Post
Ok. That's what I figured. All of this will be done in an aluminum enclosure that contains the PS and and is accessible. So the next question is, what defines a junction box?
A metal, plastic, or fiberglass box rated for the use in electrical circuits. Also a old sub or main power panel without the guts can be used as a junction box.
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2011, 02:05 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Near Philly
Posts: 2,041
Rewards Points: 1,002
Default

How increase the length of wire to line connection


Is this going to be inside or outside (the junction for the splice)? If outside, you need a junction box and wire rated for wet exposure. Other questions come to mind regarding how you are running the new wiring to the light (surface or behind walls, floors, etc) and if it needs to be protected from damage?
bob22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2011, 02:27 PM   #8
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,861
Rewards Points: 2,516
Blog Entries: 4
Default

How increase the length of wire to line connection


Just use wire nuts. No need for but splices and crimpers.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2011, 04:12 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

How increase the length of wire to line connection


This is an outdoor canopy light. I'm disconnecting the Universal ballast/caps from the line voltage so that I can wire in a PS that will run LED lights to replace the metal halide. The PS comes with only 6" of wire but is rated to be IP67 and is mounted near to the LED modules. Currently, the line in is wire-nut connected to the ballast but there's no specific junction box so I assume the canopy enclosure must qualify as such.
wdrrob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2011, 04:30 PM   #10
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,293
Rewards Points: 2,248
Default

How increase the length of wire to line connection


Quote:
Originally Posted by wdrrob View Post
This is an outdoor canopy light. I'm disconnecting the Universal ballast/caps from the line voltage so that I can wire in a PS that will run LED lights to replace the metal halide. The PS comes with only 6" of wire but is rated to be IP67 and is mounted near to the LED modules. Currently, the line in is wire-nut connected to the ballast but there's no specific junction box so I assume the canopy enclosure must qualify as such.
Is this new fixture outdoor rated? Post a picture of the old & new light you are wanting to use in question, along with any website info if avail. Keep in mind, LED lighting may not be as bright as a Metal Halide would be.

gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3 wire stove connection bgoldie Electrical 13 03-01-2011 12:29 PM
wire connection peteracki Electrical 6 05-18-2010 06:12 AM
HALP! Master/Remote Dimmer troubles! Confuserated Electrical 9 02-12-2010 03:30 PM
How do I find my Line length for building trusses? missfixit Building & Construction 8 03-12-2009 05:13 PM
3 wire connection for new kitchen stove rjniles Electrical 4 09-13-2007 12:59 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.