Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-13-2010, 09:20 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Ontario
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

How to include a GFCI outlet with multiple loads


We are rewiring our bathroom to include a GFCI outlet so that other receptacles in the bathroom are on a GFCI circuit.

So here's what we have:
Vanity Light (currently connected to one switch)
Light above the tub (currently connected to the same switch)
Exhaust Fan (currently connected to the same switch)
Kitchen Exhaust Fan (kitchen and bath are beside each other - currently connect to the outlet)

What we would like to do is use a dual switch where one switch will be for the Vanity Light and Light above the tub. The other switch will be for the exhaust fan. The GFCI outlet will be used as such and will protect all receptacles in the bathroom. And the kitchen exhaust fan wired to the outlet. There is one power source feeding all these currently and they are all on one breaker on the panel.

I would like to know how to wire so that we can have all receptacles protected by the GFCI. If a picture would help let me know.

Thanks.

Gwennr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2010, 09:29 AM   #2
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,344
Default

How to include a GFCI outlet with multiple loads


Since this is a rewire your receptacles in the bathroom can not be on the same circuit as the kitchen fan. The receptacle must also be a 20 amp circuit. The bathroom lights and fans can remain on the circuit. If you move the kitchen fan to a different circuit then all the stuff in the bathroom can be on the 20 amp circuit.

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2010, 09:34 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Ontario
Posts: 3
Default

How to include a GFCI outlet with multiple loads


Ok so we'll remove the kitchen fan from the circuit. No problem. I know the power source needs to connect to the Line on the GFCI but how do we connect the wires from everything else so that they 'feed' from the Load?
Gwennr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2010, 09:39 AM   #4
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,316
Default

How to include a GFCI outlet with multiple loads


The GFI has two sets of terminals; LINE and LOAD. Anything connected to the LOAD terminals is protected by the GFI.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2010, 09:47 AM   #5
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,252
Default

How to include a GFCI outlet with multiple loads


Usually lighting does not need to be GFCI protected. The tub light MIGHT need protection, but might not. Depends on the light.

Might be a good idea to connect at least the vanity light to the LINE (unprotected) side of the GFCI. This way if it trips, you are not left in the dark.
__________________
Andrew


Last edited by secutanudu; 10-13-2010 at 11:02 AM. Reason: typo
secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2010, 10:31 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Ontario
Posts: 3
Default

How to include a GFCI outlet with multiple loads


I'm with you. But I can't seem to wrap my mind around how to connect everything together. Can't get a picture to upload. I need to know how to connect the wires (pigtail or otherwise) from the lights and fan so that they connect to the correct switches and are GFCI protected .
Nevermind - we figured it out. Thanks for all your help.


Last edited by Gwennr; 10-13-2010 at 01:04 PM.
Gwennr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to wire in GFCI outlet from scratch? hellothere123 Electrical 5 04-25-2010 10:43 PM
Another puzzling question about GFCI outlet Giles Electrical 3 02-20-2010 01:00 PM
15 amp gfci outlet on a 20 amp circuit? Jeremy Hillary Boob, PhD Electrical 3 11-28-2008 07:05 PM
Multiple Circuits - Same Outlet box Revnjeff Electrical 2 09-04-2008 08:17 PM
wiring a gfci outlet in circuit bobo Electrical 12 08-31-2005 08:38 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.