Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-14-2010, 03:22 AM   #1
tdl
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: MICHIGAN
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

how to hide wires from wall mounted tv


how can i hide or cover the wires from my wall mounted plasma tv i have mounted over my fireplace? the area above the fireplace is brick which presents a bigger problem. i can go about a foot to the side on the brick and then along the brick down to the floor along the drywall. any suggestions on products out there that will do this?

tdl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2010, 04:21 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Eighty Four, Pa.15330
Posts: 1,283
Rewards Points: 564
Default

how to hide wires from wall mounted tv


Wiremold is what I use when it is acceptable to the client. They make a 2 piece plastic wireway I think it's called Basetrack.

bobelectric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2010, 11:58 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 77
Rewards Points: 75
Default

how to hide wires from wall mounted tv


I did this by installing a clock outlet so it would be behind the tv. these outlets are recessed and allow room for the plug.

i then installed an open audio/video outlet up high behind the tv and also down low behind my entertainment center.
looks kind of like this one....


one thing i should mention, if running hdmi cables or audio cables in the wall, they should be listed for in wall use.
moopey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2010, 08:55 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Branford, CT
Posts: 37
Rewards Points: 25
Default

how to hide wires from wall mounted tv


I have done many 'in-wall' and 'hidden' entertainment setups, but you are looking for a solution for a brick fireplace.

I did one where I cut/routed out the mortar in between the bricks to get to the outer edge of the fireplace, installed the cabling from the back of a wiremold box into the joints in the brick (you will need to route out more than one brick line, one for power, one for signal wires) and followed the brick line to the fireplace edge. Then I installed a corner raceway from underneath the mantel top, along the wall to the floor.
http://cableorganizer.com/surface-ra...ornerduct.html

The raceway can be painted to match the wall and looks like crown molding. I used mortar patch to go over the cabling that ran along the brick line - you cannot see the difference!

Sorry I don't have a picture or diagram to show you, hopefully you can visualize what I am saying.
ControlTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dark over light...Do I need tinted primer? melissaandkris Painting 17 09-09-2011 10:43 AM
Single Pole Switch, but 5 wires in wall and ceiling jmo1112 Electrical 4 10-11-2010 08:51 PM
Retaining Wall and Muddy Yard rjschwar Landscaping & Lawn Care 10 02-24-2010 12:55 PM
Wall - LOAD BEARING: How to Move? user49172 Building & Construction 1 03-11-2009 04:48 PM
Installing New Wires In Wall? madcitysw Electrical 5 01-14-2008 08:08 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.