Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-14-2012, 03:17 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: near LA, Calif
Posts: 52
Share |
Default

how to ground this old wire?


I redoing part of my kitchen, some of the drywall have been removed. I'm looking at the NM cable that goes to a wall outlet, it has only 2 wires (no ground.) what is the easiest way to add grounding to this. can I just ground it to my copper water pipe? If so, I can just wire between the ground receptacle of the outlet and the copper pipe? (I'm hoping not to replace the entire length with new wire.) thx

oldhouse49 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2012, 04:05 PM   #2
Member
 
jproffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Chester, IL
Posts: 1,296
Default

how to ground this old wire?


You can't just attach to a pipe.

Under some circumstances, you can ADD a seperate ground. But if the wall is already open, it would be just as well to pull new xx-2 down to the panel.

I'm assuming if it's one of the kitchen rec.'s, it's 12-2.....

Must be really old wire to not have a ground included.

jproffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2012, 04:09 PM   #3
MarginallyQualified
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 3,663
Default

how to ground this old wire?


Quote:
Originally Posted by oldhouse49 View Post
I'm looking at the NM cable that goes to a wall outlet, it has only 2 wires
(I'm hoping not to replace the entire length with new wire.)
So much for hoping.
You're kitchen remodel job expanded to re-doing the wiring.
You'll need 12/2 NM and some TR GFI's, probably more boxes than you have now and very likely some new circuits too.
TarheelTerp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing outlet - no ground wire clydesdale Electrical 17 12-18-2011 02:29 AM
Ground Location and Wire Size LHB_Texas Electrical 25 05-27-2011 09:38 AM
3 Wire Set Up . . . Neutral Wire Tied to Ground Wires irishMonster Electrical 14 10-21-2010 08:20 AM
This doesnt seem right. JoulesWinfield Electrical 27 07-26-2009 07:40 PM
hooking up dryer....bronx ny code SURFBUG Appliances 6 10-14-2008 09:41 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.