Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-13-2009, 02:36 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,231
Share |
Question

how to ground a detached shed subpanel ?


to which i am running 50 A from the main panel ? the conduit is buried.

amakarevic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2009, 03:11 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

how to ground a detached shed subpanel ?


Shed must have 4 wire feed
Neutral & grounds seperated in the sub-panel
Neutral not bonded to the panel
1 or 2 (8') ground rods must be run from the ground buss
If 2 rods they must be at least 6' apart
I used some left-over #4 wire - may not need something that big

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2009, 03:14 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,231
Question

how to ground a detached shed subpanel ?


does the ground wire coming out of the subpanel need to go outside under the foundation, i.e. not be exposed outside, or can it come outside the shed through a wall and then go under ground, i.e. a piece will be exposed (with conduit, i guess) ? also, how deep does the rod need to be buried ?
amakarevic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2009, 03:20 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

how to ground a detached shed subpanel ?


My ground wire goes thru the wall & is protected by conduit until underground

Ground rods are 8' long & must be installed 8' deep if possible
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2009, 03:42 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,231
Default

how to ground a detached shed subpanel ?


does the rod need to be buried horizontal or vertical and, if vertical, how deep should the upper end have to be below grade ?
amakarevic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2009, 03:58 PM   #6
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

how to ground a detached shed subpanel ?


You should drive them straight down but if you encounter rock, you can drive them at an angle not to exceed 45 deg or bury them in a trench at least 30".

They need to be flush with or below the ground level.

Best to use #6, if you use #8 it needs to be protected from physical damage.
wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2009, 04:13 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,231
Default

how to ground a detached shed subpanel ?


thanks y'all. i think i've got what i need


amakarevic is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A few slightly different questions on subpanel wiring. Chris Dopp Electrical 8 06-26-2009 09:45 PM
Detached shed/shop rewire gtmatt Electrical 7 05-24-2008 09:40 AM
running wire to a detached shed subpanel amakarevic Electrical 9 03-27-2008 05:15 PM
Subpanel to Shed - Check my plan NateHanson Electrical 9 04-26-2007 09:56 PM
Subpanel feeder questions Silhanek Electrical 4 03-22-2007 06:30 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.