Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-26-2009, 11:39 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

How to Ground 3-to-2 prong grounding adapters


Hi, I have a lighting dimmer that only accepts 2 prong adapters. My lighting equipment however utilizes 3 prongs.

I purchased a few 3-to-2 prong grounding adapters (http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produc...o_2_Prong.html)

I'm thinking about connecting the lighting equipment to the adapter, and then connecting the adapter to the lighting dimmer, and then the lighting dimmer to an outlet.

My problem is that the adapters clearly states in needs to be grounded. How would I go about doing this? Would it be okay to just connect the lighting dimmer to a surge protector?

Any help would be appreciated -- thanks!

Lantisu10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2009, 12:22 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Missouri
Posts: 37
Rewards Points: 25
Default

How to Ground 3-to-2 prong grounding adapters


If the electrical box is appropriated grounded at the receptacle you are using, you can ground it to that using the screw in the center of the face plate cover. If your system is not grounded however then this solution will not ground the circuit. You will have to solve that problem first.

A surge protector is not a remedy for not having a ground in a circuit. A surge protector does just like it sounds: it protects the attached appliance from a circuit power surge (Excessive current)

trosenda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2009, 01:23 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

How to Ground 3-to-2 prong grounding adapters


Thanks for the reply! I'll be connecting the adapter to the lighting dimmer and not to a wall outlet, so I won't have access to an easy ground.

Are there any techniques to ground the adapter in this situation?
Lantisu10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2009, 01:50 PM   #4
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,695
Rewards Points: 2,188
Default

How to Ground 3-to-2 prong grounding adapters


Sorry, but receptacle outlets are prohibited by the NEC from being controlled by a dimmer.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2009, 01:55 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Missouri
Posts: 37
Rewards Points: 25
Default

How to Ground 3-to-2 prong grounding adapters


It seems in that case if you really want a ground the best solution is to buy a dimmer with a ground.

Otherwise, I can only see using a green 14 gauge stranded wire to a grounding screw in a grounded electrical box and grounding the 2 prong adapter with a nut and small bolt to the green wire. I'm not sure that would be a practical or very esthetically pleasing solution though.
trosenda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2009, 01:56 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Missouri
Posts: 37
Rewards Points: 25
Default

How to Ground 3-to-2 prong grounding adapters


I think the original post refers to a plug in type dimmer
trosenda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2009, 02:16 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

How to Ground 3-to-2 prong grounding adapters


Sorry, I should have posted more details about the equipment.

The dimmers are these:
http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produc...r_Control.html

The lights I'm using with the dimmers are these:
http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produc...ood_Light.html

I shoot interviews with the lights. Have previously used filters to cut the intensity of the light, but thought I would try out dimmers. Seems I bought poor dimmers.
Lantisu10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2009, 03:57 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,965
Rewards Points: 2,026
Default

How to Ground 3-to-2 prong grounding adapters


Connect the ground lug or terminal on the 3 prong to 2 prong adapter directly to a known ground (using a 14 gauge wire). You will need to find a known ground as suggested above. The ground can even be a water pipe if that does not have a plastic section between where you attach the wire and where the ground wire from the panel is clamped on down in the basement.

__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.

Last edited by AllanJ; 10-26-2009 at 04:06 PM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
This doesnt seem right. JoulesWinfield Electrical 27 07-26-2009 07:40 PM
Microwave ground prong sparks/melts upon plugging it in microwaveman Electrical 30 05-10-2009 10:30 PM
Grounding conduit instead of using a ground wire? stringtheories Electrical 10 08-02-2008 12:42 PM
Hot Tub Install--Grounding Rod Question statgeek_rob Electrical 16 09-15-2007 02:59 AM
Subpanel feeder questions Silhanek Electrical 4 03-22-2007 06:30 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.