Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-17-2011, 01:18 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Indiana, PA
Posts: 1,299
Share |
Default

how to get power to lamp post from basement


my whole house is on a level grade... only about 2 layers of 8" block goes above the grade before the first floor decking... I need to get a line from the "outside" power loop, which lights up all the outside lighting on the house out to a new lamp post... where would you guys run the line if you where doing this?


1) go through the block and run PVC conduit
2) go through the rim joist and run a PVC conduit

I need to get about 20 ft in a straight line from the house to where its going, plan was to run conduit ~18" deep then use TWHN wire (White, Black and Green) to the lamp in the conduit, the lamp base would be concrete with conduit in the center of it.. thats the easy part...

how to get the line into the house is where I am stuck on the best method

the house is Vinyal sided, the block foundation is not veneered or anything else yet

BlueBSH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2011, 02:14 PM   #2
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,021
Default

how to get power to lamp post from basement


Go through the Rim joist, then drop the conduit on the outside wall aprx 18" into the trench in the ground, then run out to the light post. If you run the conduit all the way out to the light, you can use THHN, other wise if you only drop the conduit 18" into the ground then run UF out of the conduit to the post. It is hard to pull UF for that short of distance in the conduit, but you can use a pull end like this http://www.lowes.com/pd_54790-15527-...r|1&facetInfo= to help feed into the wall, so you can finish the run with NM Romex in a junction box on the other side.

gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2011, 02:28 PM   #3
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,511
Default

how to get power to lamp post from basement


Although many THHN is dual rated THHN/THWN it needs to have a W in the rating for use outdoors and underground.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2011, 03:26 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Indiana, PA
Posts: 1,299
Default

how to get power to lamp post from basement


what about a photocell? the lamp post I am getting doesn't have a hole in it for one already, not sure if I could fit one on it or not? if not, where would you go about putting one? just put a 1 gang box where the conduit came out of the rim joist, then put a photo cell on it? I don't want this stuff to be too obvious
BlueBSH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2011, 05:19 PM   #5
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,511
Default

how to get power to lamp post from basement


You could drill a hole in the lamp post.

Mounting the photocell close to the ground may result in it coming on sooner due to shadows from bushes etc.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
old lamp post rewire tiso2010 Electrical 1 08-08-2010 05:59 PM
Hi! First post - Basement issues jmejiaa General DIY Discussions 6 07-14-2010 11:42 AM
GFCI for the Lamp Post (GFCI for circuit that is fed Power from light) jamiedolan Electrical 7 02-25-2009 10:50 PM
Temporarily remove basement support post ColinD Building & Construction 14 12-04-2008 05:07 PM
need to control remote lamp post timalabim Electrical 3 05-01-2006 10:40 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.