Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-07-2010, 06:56 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 7
Share |
Default

How to fix Double tap at Circuit Breaker


Is it acceptable to take the two blacks to a wire nut, a pigtail from the wire nut to the breaker? Is this OK by latest code?

xraydido is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2010, 06:59 PM   #2
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,887
Default

How to fix Double tap at Circuit Breaker


as long as its done inside of the panel and done neatly ive never had a problem

plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2010, 07:42 PM   #3
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,369
Default

How to fix Double tap at Circuit Breaker


It is also OK on some brands of breakers to put two wires under one screw(double tap).
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2010, 08:31 PM   #4
Inspector/Instructor
 
codeone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 369
Default

How to fix Double tap at Circuit Breaker


Quote:
Originally Posted by xraydido View Post
Is it acceptable to take the two blacks to a wire nut, a pigtail from the wire nut to the breaker? Is this OK by latest code?
Yes this would be code compliant. As noted by another poster some breakers are listed for 2 wires. Two are Square D Homeline and Square D QO breakers.
codeone is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to codeone For This Useful Post:
GCRandle (06-12-2010)
Old 05-07-2010, 09:15 PM   #5
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,136
Default

How to fix Double tap at Circuit Breaker


hey joed this came up in a different topic not to long ago. Do you know where or if it says in the CEC that we are not allowed to make joints in the panel., the closet I came to an answer was 12-3032.
darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2010, 10:47 PM   #6
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,369
Default

How to fix Double tap at Circuit Breaker


I only have an Ontario 1998 code book.
12-3032 would be the section that requires the divider for the mains from the branch circuits.
12-3034 states that enclosures for over current devices, controllers and externally operated switches shall not be used as junction boxes, troughs or raceways for conductors feeding through to other apparatus
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2010, 09:44 AM   #7
Sparkaholic
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 192
Send a message via Yahoo to sparks1up
Default

How to fix Double tap at Circuit Breaker


[/QUOTE]12-3034 states that enclosures for over current devices, controllers and externally operated switches shall not be used as junction boxes, troughs or raceways for conductors feeding through to other apparatus[/QUOTE]

Don't misinterpret that to mean you can't make a splice in the panel! It is perfectly acceptable to splice 2 wires together in a panel so long as you are terminating them on a breaker.

What is NOT ok is to make a splice that is coming and going through the panel but not connected to a breaker. That would be using the panel as a raceway or a junction box!

Last edited by sparks1up; 05-08-2010 at 09:47 AM.
sparks1up is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2010, 01:55 PM   #8
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,136
Default

How to fix Double tap at Circuit Breaker


I know in the USA it is fine but i have heard from more then one source that they are not allowed in panels. Remember were talking about CEC not the NEC.
darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2010, 02:15 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada (s/w ON.)
Posts: 2,294
Default

How to fix Double tap at Circuit Breaker


Quote:
Originally Posted by darren View Post
I know in the USA it is fine but i have heard from more then one source that they are not allowed in panels. Remember were talking about CEC not the NEC.
I've been retired since 1995 and things may have changed in that time, but before that time, connections within the panel were considered to be the best place to make these connections.
The only other choice would be to terminate the two cables in a junction box and then run a feed to the panel! In all my years, I have never seen this done!
As previously noted, circuits that do not terminate in the panel are not allowed and should be joined in an external junction box!
Wildie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2010, 02:36 PM   #10
Sparkaholic
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 192
Send a message via Yahoo to sparks1up
Default

How to fix Double tap at Circuit Breaker


Quote:
Originally Posted by darren View Post
I know in the USA it is fine but i have heard from more then one source that they are not allowed in panels. Remember were talking about CEC not the NEC.
Read this quote posted by the OP out of his CEC handbook

Quote:
Originally Posted by 12-3034 states that enclosures for over current devices, controllers and externally operated switches shall not be used as junction boxes, troughs or raceways for conductors [B
feeding through to other apparatus[/B]
It clearly says "for conductors feeding through to other apparatus"! That means you can't pass through the panel. If you are splicing to go to a breaker you are NOT passing through you are terminating.

sparks1up is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
20A Circuit Breaker, 30A dryer, is it OK? ninghai Electrical 36 01-03-2010 03:11 PM
Replacing a circuit breaker tertius Electrical 9 09-24-2009 08:17 PM
Circuit out but circuit breaker didn't trip PaulenAndrew Electrical 17 08-16-2008 08:38 AM
Dead circuit - Breaker not tripped Anne Electrical 2 08-09-2008 03:29 PM
Circuit breaker panel - Advice needed justtired Electrical 15 12-13-2007 05:55 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.