Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-05-2012, 04:04 PM   #1
Newbie
 
ogoa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 4
Share |
Question

How to find out if single phase or 3 phase?


I am looking to purchase a machine which requires 230 volt 3 phase power. I am not sure if my building has 3 phase and that much voltage.

I contacted the person selling the machine and he told me that I most likely may have 120 volt single phase if it's not an industrial building...

How do I know if I have 3 phase and 230 volt?

Thanks!!

ogoa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2012, 04:09 PM   #2
Member
 
Julius793's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New york
Posts: 1,053
Default

How to find out if single phase or 3 phase?


this is in your house, business? call your power company and ask, i wouldnt suggest opening your panel to find out

__________________
Electricity will kill you if you give it a chance
Julius793 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Julius793 For This Useful Post:
ogoa (02-05-2012)
Old 02-05-2012, 04:13 PM   #3
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,889
Default

How to find out if single phase or 3 phase?


If its in a commercial building how many wires are coming to the mast above your meter socket,are they marked with differant colors like black/red/blue or maybe brown /orange/yellow?
Those would be common signs of 3 phase wiring,there might also be a seperate service for your single phase 120/240 loads depending on how they do things in your area
__________________
"facts" have no relevance to this discusion
Posting from a concrete bunker under a non descript barn
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to plummen For This Useful Post:
ogoa (02-05-2012)
Old 02-05-2012, 04:18 PM   #4
Member
 
wareagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Nashville
Posts: 70
Default

How to find out if single phase or 3 phase?


If your service is 3 wires it is single phase. If it is 4 wires its three phase.
For voltage look at your meter. It may say 208 or 240 volts. I would still check with the utillity.
wareagle is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to wareagle For This Useful Post:
ogoa (02-05-2012)
Old 02-05-2012, 04:21 PM   #5
Member
 
Julius793's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New york
Posts: 1,053
Default

How to find out if single phase or 3 phase?


Quote:
Originally Posted by wareagle View Post
If your service is 3 wires it is single phase. If it is 4 wires its three phase.
For voltage look at your meter. It may say 208 or 240 volts. I would still check with the utillity.
what if its a delta?
__________________
Electricity will kill you if you give it a chance
Julius793 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Julius793 For This Useful Post:
plummen (02-05-2012)
Old 02-05-2012, 04:23 PM   #6
Newbie
 
ogoa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 4
Default

How to find out if single phase or 3 phase?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Julius793 View Post
this is in your house, business? call your power company and ask, i wouldnt suggest opening your panel to find out
It's a commercial building. What should I be looking for within the panel?

Quote:
Originally Posted by plummen View Post
If its in a commercial building how many wires are coming to the mast above your meter socket,are they marked with differant colors like black/red/blue or maybe brown /orange/yellow?
Those would be common signs of 3 phase wiring,there might also be a seperate service for your single phase 120/240 loads depending on how they do things in your area
Alright... I will check on this when I go back there on Monday.

Thanks...
ogoa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2012, 04:25 PM   #7
Newbie
 
ogoa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 4
Default

How to find out if single phase or 3 phase?


Quote:
Originally Posted by wareagle View Post
If your service is 3 wires it is single phase. If it is 4 wires its three phase.
For voltage look at your meter. It may say 208 or 240 volts. I would still check with the utillity.
I looked at the meter and it says 120 vA...

I am still confused and yea I will have to contact the utility company and probably ask just to verify...

thanks
ogoa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2012, 05:49 PM   #8
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,571
Default

How to find out if single phase or 3 phase?


Just because the power co. supplies the service with 3 doesn't mean there's 3 available in the building.

The only way to know is to remove the panel cover and check voltages across the busses.

A lot of commercial buildings around here have 3 services and 3 meters, but only single phase panels.

Rob
micromind is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2012, 06:04 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 25,820
Default

How to find out if single phase or 3 phase?


It would be rare to not have 220 volts coming into the the top of the panel so if your panel has 220 volts, with a Static or dynamic phase converter you could run a 3 phase machine with only single phase power coming in.
The static ones are cheap to buy but you loose a lot of HP and are prone to failure.
With A dynamic one it's possible if you buy one with more HP then the highest HP you will be using to use it to start more then one machine as long as you only start one at a time.
One of the many places that sell these is MSC.com
There's even plans on line on how to build one if your into eletronics.

Last edited by joecaption; 02-05-2012 at 06:08 PM.
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2012, 06:08 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 25,820
Default

How to find out if single phase or 3 phase?


http://www.phaseconverter.com/

joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need a single phase 220v transformer KBK Electrical 2 02-28-2011 05:06 PM
3 Phase to single phase conversion fabricator Electrical 21 02-22-2011 09:16 PM
Converting 3 phase equipment to single phase /VFD? lightison Electrical 7 01-04-2011 03:14 PM
Single Phase AC motor overheating with no load after 1 min qtipextra Electrical 9 11-07-2010 10:01 PM
3 Phase meter socket question a320200 Electrical 4 12-11-2009 12:45 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.