Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-22-2010, 01:31 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 113
Share |
Default

how to figure amps on a circuit?


I have a friend who has a breaker that keeps tripping in his home panel. I dont have a clamp on meter. How do you figure out how many amps are on the circuit?

bcbud3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2010, 05:47 AM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 1
Default

how to figure amps on a circuit?


buy a clamp on meter?

SolidAxleDurang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2010, 06:21 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Maryland
Posts: 61
Default

how to figure amps on a circuit?


Without a clamp-on ammeter, you might try sequentially disconnecting or turning off and on items served by that breaker and observing the breaker action. That way you can compute the load.
oilseal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2010, 10:00 AM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,675
Default

how to figure amps on a circuit?


without a meter you can only guess.
What size and type of breaker?
Could be a gcfi that is tripping on ground fault and not over current. The same with a AFCI breaker.
Need more details!
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2010, 10:02 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,856
Default

how to figure amps on a circuit?


Add up the watts of the things plugged in and turned on for that circuit and divide by 120 (by the volts).

Is it only when something that uses a lot of electricity, such as a hair dryer, is turned on?

Sometimes one circuit serves two or three rooms so you might be surprised how many items you find are drawing power from that circuit.
__________________
Stop wasting time re-adjusting the pattern. Have several lawn sprinklers, one for each pattern.

Last edited by AllanJ; 01-22-2010 at 10:05 AM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2010, 12:11 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,497
Default

how to figure amps on a circuit?


Yes, turn off the breaker, then see what no longer works.

List each item and write down the watts in one column if it says watts on the appliance or amps in another column if it says amps on the appliance label.

Then total the watts. Total the amps.

Here you can convert watts to amps under "single phase"...
http://www.jobsite-generators.com/po...lculators.html

Then add the amps converted from the watts column to the other amps total. And you have the total amps being used.

To solve the problem, you can move some of these to another circuit.

Or run a new circuit to one big power user. Then you just need to install one outlet.

Billy_Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring in New Addition? sandyman720 Electrical 6 11-27-2011 03:34 PM
Sharing Neutrals on the same phase electro Electrical 30 08-12-2010 02:10 PM
Generator as sole power source NGuy Electrical 29 12-20-2008 12:29 AM
15 or 20 amp socket with #10? Mdbuilder Electrical 16 12-11-2008 12:27 PM
radiant floor heat thermostat kornbln Electrical 5 03-27-2008 12:45 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.