How Is Electrical Inspector Doing The Inspection... - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-15-2006, 04:23 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,861
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

How is electrical inspector doing the inspection...


Hi everyone,

I finally close to finish wiring my basement... now I am about to invite the inspector to inspect.. the first thing I discover is they charge a lot... this is quite different from the experience from the non-electrical inspection.. for that they charge a flat fee and unlimited visits...

anyhow, can anyone enlightened me what would a electrical inspector do?

like would they ask you to open up a electrical device box and see how you connect the wire?

or would they have those high tech equipments see all your ground connections are connected properly, as well as hot and neutral wire...etc.

or they just do a 5 minutes visual looks around the house and rush out to the coffee shop to continue to enjoy their coffee...etc..

could anyone who have experience or even been an inspector before share some knowledge here to reduce my frighteness of calling for an inspection....

Advertisement

KUIPORNG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2006, 06:51 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,955
Rewards Points: 2,306
Default

How is electrical inspector doing the inspection...


I have had inspectors do all of the above and then some. Had one drive by to see if I was working, then passed the install.

Advertisement

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2006, 09:46 PM   #3
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,337
Rewards Points: 3,468
Blog Entries: 4
Default

How is electrical inspector doing the inspection...


Electrical inspections are usually two parts.
1. The rough inspection. This happens before you put the drywall up. The inspector wants to see all the wires in the wall, how they are routed, if they are stapled properly, If they are the correct size, if you have the receptacles in the correct places etc.
2. The final inspection after all the devices installed.

I have heard of rare case where they made people tear the walls out to see the wires when a rough inspection was skipped.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What's the ICC Electrical Code? Chuck Electrical 7 02-20-2013 11:19 AM
Electrical issues with home inspection toolmaan Electrical 20 08-10-2007 06:52 PM
Passed rough inspection, thank you! mt232 Electrical 1 06-13-2007 04:27 PM
Finishing basement - electrical code ??? normwannabe Electrical 1 01-23-2006 08:48 PM
Yay! Passed my electrical inspection today! MikeinBurien Electrical 2 12-17-2005 03:32 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts