Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-22-2012, 07:25 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Md/Pa
Posts: 950
Share |
Default

How do you measure DC voltage without a negative DC line (smoke detectors)


Quote:
Originally Posted by kbsparky View Post
Sounds like you are picking up some induction (Phantom) voltage there.

It may not be an issue with everything connected ....
I think he had everthing hooked up.

zappa is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2012, 07:27 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Md/Pa
Posts: 950
Default

How do you measure DC voltage without a negative DC line (smoke detectors)


Quote:
Originally Posted by zappa View Post
Sorry,,,,I missed this answer. That is the problem right there.
Now, why this is happening I have no clue. they should be like totally open mechanical switches I would think.
zappa is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2012, 07:39 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Md/Pa
Posts: 950
Default

How do you measure DC voltage without a negative DC line (smoke detectors)


Will your meter measure high resistance like 100K or even higher? The only thing I can suggest is to remove your detectors from the wiring and measure across the contacts. I think they should be very high resistance but they seem to have a low enough resistance to operate the relays when they shouldn't be.
zappa is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2012, 07:42 PM   #19
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 13,901
Default

How do you measure DC voltage without a negative DC line (smoke detectors)


http://www.1728.org/project3.htm Scroll down to the section regarding alarm circuits. Also http://www.electronicspoint.com/latc...ent-t3986.html even though it is about SCR's, it still applies.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2012, 09:27 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 100
Default

How do you measure DC voltage without a negative DC line (smoke detectors)


Quote:
Originally Posted by zappa View Post
Can you tell if the relays are actuating? I added a line to my last post.
Ahh, thanks, missed the edit. Can't tell if they are actuating for sure. They're wrapped in some type of black plastic-type material. You can see a picture of it at SM120X Relay Module.pdf. It's the one on the right.

Quote:
Originally Posted by zappa View Post
Can the relays be unplugged? (socket type). Another good test.
Sort of... I'm using the ideal in-sure wire connectors, so I have to kill the circuit while making changes. Speakerphone + wife makes it easier, though.

Quote:
Originally Posted by kbsparky View Post
Sounds like you are picking up some induction (Phantom) voltage there.

It may not be an issue with everything connected ....
Ahh, you might be dead on. Looked into induction/phantom voltage, and found discussions like Phantom voltage reading on switch loops.

Never considered that you'd have induction from the source hot to the return hot on a switch loop, makes perfect sense though. Looks like the amount detected varies on each multimeter model based on its resistance, but that thread discusses 15v, which is dead on to the 17-18v I'm detecting.

I'll measure the current later tonight or tomorrow to confirm that it's phantom voltage with extremely minimal current.

Perhaps the 17-18v was a red herring...
darlingm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2012, 09:37 PM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 100
Default

How do you measure DC voltage without a negative DC line (smoke detectors)


... Missed there was a second page. (Thanks for all the responses guys!)

Quote:
Originally Posted by zappa View Post
Now, why this is happening I have no clue. they should be like totally open mechanical switches I would think.
That's my understanding of them, as long as they don't get hot.

Quote:
Originally Posted by zappa View Post
Will your meter measure high resistance like 100K or even higher? The only thing I can suggest is to remove your detectors from the wiring and measure across the contacts. I think they should be very high resistance but they seem to have a low enough resistance to operate the relays when they shouldn't be.
Seems to. Finger on one hand to the other initially reads 14 million ohms but fairly quickly starts reducing toward 6 million ohms.

I have measured the resistance disconnected from power. Both at the unit, and across what would be the source hot and the return hot, it registers 0.L (that's the letter L) ohms which is how this unit indicates infinite/higher than measurable resistance. I'm thinking the phantom voltage was putting me in the wrong direction, and perhaps the heat detectors aren't connecting anything.

Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
http://www.1728.org/project3.htm Scroll down to the section regarding alarm circuits. Also http://www.electronicspoint.com/latc...ent-t3986.html even though it is about SCR's, it still applies.
Awesome links, I'll read up on those.
darlingm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2012, 09:48 PM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 100
Default

How do you measure DC voltage without a negative DC line (smoke detectors)


Just realized, this may be very simple. Perhaps the relays are sensitive enough to send out the 9v DC (max 50mA) if they see 17-18v AC even with no current to speak of. Maybe I can't use a switch loop, and will have to run two romex's for each heat detector. Boy that would stink.
darlingm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2012, 10:25 PM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Md/Pa
Posts: 950
Default

How do you measure DC voltage without a negative DC line (smoke detectors)


Quote:
Originally Posted by darlingm View Post
Just realized, this may be very simple. Perhaps the relays are sensitive enough to send out the 9v DC (max 50mA) if they see 17-18v AC even with no current to speak of. Maybe I can't use a switch loop, and will have to run two romex's for each heat detector. Boy that would stink.
I can't buy into that theory plus Kidde is a reputable company and they wouldn't design something that would false that easily. When you disconnect the sensors the relays drop out and function normally.

Give them a call and see if they have any ideas. Please check back in when you get the system working and let us know.

zappa is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Test your smoke DETECTORS! Leah Frances Safety 15 11-08-2012 07:05 AM
Remote sensor for line voltage thermostat? hbridge HVAC 7 07-06-2012 03:42 PM
Questions on installing Smoke Detectors danielrg Electrical 10 08-30-2011 12:08 PM
wiring smoke detectors lowcountry Electrical 4 06-21-2011 05:48 PM
Smoke Detectors / CO Detector Bocolo Electrical 9 02-17-2009 05:12 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.