Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-31-2008, 02:46 PM   #16
Res Ipsa Loquitur
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Southeastern PA
Posts: 363
Share |
Default

How do you keep track of circuits in your house?


I used a Word (or Excel) table to map against my breakers (200a panel, 2 columns, 20 spaces long) and numbered according to my panel- this leaves much room to write in for each breaker spot where it applies- unlike the box label often supplied for the same purpose. I could also have this saved on my computer but know it is not enough data to warrant an access database. As mentioned before it is not changing often enough to keep an active database about it.

__________________
Did you ever stop to think, then forget to start again?
handyman78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2008, 06:34 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 1,202
Default

How do you keep track of circuits in your house?


I find it useful in planning for updates to the existing wiring. I can easily see which circuits are full, and which have room to add more.
Then, once I do make the changes, it's simple to update the database.

It's not so much that I need the database, I like working with it.
__________________

KE2KB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2008, 09:40 PM   #18
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,360
Default

How do you keep track of circuits in your house?


A simple method is to affix a small label on the back of each cover plate identifying which breaker controls that specific circuit.

Simply remove the plate, and the panel and circuit number are right there!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2008, 09:46 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,794
Default

How do you keep track of circuits in your house?


On the occation I need to work on something or make a change - I just start flipping breakers. I have stickers on some, but my handwriting is so bad I can't read it myself, and by the time the little stickers on the breaker box fade and curl...
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2008, 10:43 PM   #20
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,559
Default

How do you keep track of circuits in your house?


I do the same thing kbsparky does. Just write the circuit number on the back of the cover plate. My panel marking is just a generalization, not very specific.

Rob
micromind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2008, 10:49 PM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 1,202
Default

How do you keep track of circuits in your house?


Quote:
Originally Posted by kbsparky View Post
A simple method is to affix a small label on the back of each cover plate identifying which breaker controls that specific circuit.

Simply remove the plate, and the panel and circuit number are right there!
I'm planning to do that. Just need to get the labels.
__________________

KE2KB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2008, 12:35 AM   #22
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 13,723
Default

How do you keep track of circuits in your house?


By placing stickers on the sheet on the panel door, or writing in Pen or Sharpie what circuit for what breaker. You are going by the hard way, and what happens if you loose the Computer that the Database is on, or go to sell the house?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2008, 04:14 AM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 410
Default

How do you keep track of circuits in your house?


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
By placing stickers on the sheet on the panel door, or writing in Pen or Sharpie what circuit for what breaker. You are going by the hard way, and what happens if you loose the Computer that the Database is on, or go to sell the house?
what is the easy way then? when we sell the house we make a new DB.
pcampbell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2008, 06:05 AM   #24
electrician
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 326
Default

How do you keep track of circuits in your house?


I'm with 220, you have way too much extra time on your hands

( Says the guy cruising through an internet forum on a saturday morning)
Silk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2008, 08:19 AM   #25
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,497
Default

How do you keep track of circuits in your house?


I like to draw a map of the house (or office, whatever) showing rooms and the names of those rooms. Then a list of what breaker goes to what room.
Then I stick this on the panel door. (If office, room A, B, C, etc.)

This is handy because rooms will change over time. Like there may be a combo living room/dining room. Then it changes to just a living room. So a breaker trips in the "dining room", but someone keeps messing with the "living room" breaker.
Billy_Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2008, 08:26 AM   #26
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 1,202
Default

How do you keep track of circuits in your house?


You guys just won't give up!
Forget about the reasons for using the DB. It's really irrelevant at this point.
I only posted because I was curious.
My real purpose for creating the Access DB is to get experience working with Access, not to create a better way to ID circuits.
Like I said earlier; the electricians who installed the panel wrote the wrong info on the door, so I don't have any more space to write there.
On some important breakers, like the furnace, and smoke alarms, I have used Brother P-Touch labels next to the breakers.

Maybe I should start a blog on these "off beat" ideas I have
__________________

KE2KB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2008, 08:32 AM   #27
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Default

How do you keep track of circuits in your house?


please don't.... this is so much more entertaining and informative.... =o)

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2008, 08:49 AM   #28
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,497
Default

How do you keep track of circuits in your house?


Quote:
Originally Posted by KE2KB View Post
...My real purpose for creating the Access DB is to get experience working with Access...
Well there are plenty of other things you can use Access for. Like list all your videos and include true/false fields like comedy, drama, western, etc.

Then make a form to enter your videos into the table with check boxes for each true/false field.

Then make a query which asks you what category of videos you would like (check boxes or drop down list). Then the query would run and just list the videos of one category.

That should keep you busy for awhile! (Also there are local Access programmers clubs which meet every month/week/whatever. Might want to join one of these and you will learn a LOT...)
Billy_Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2008, 09:56 AM   #29
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 13,723
Default

How do you keep track of circuits in your house?


Normal non-ADD/OCD people mark the panels with (ie Kitchen, Washer, DW, Basement Lights, etc), and do not re-wire a circuit every week. As for what is connected to what circuit for loads, look at it this way. If the circuit trips, either too many items on that circuit, or you have a problem with what is connected to that circuit and need to look for it.
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2008, 12:58 PM   #30
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,559
Default

How do you keep track of circuits in your house?


The main reason I mark the inside of the cover plates with the circuit number is if I need to work on that device (like replace it, or add something on to it), and I don't feel like working it hot, I only need to kill one circuit, and I kill the right one the first time.

Rob

micromind is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Connecting main house to guest house... hlavine Building & Construction 31 03-28-2012 09:04 AM
replumbing an old house simonfrog Plumbing 7 01-30-2012 04:45 AM
exterior wall shift away from house ldloop Building & Construction 1 01-04-2008 05:12 AM
How long should A/C take to cool house? AllGoNoShow HVAC 2 06-17-2007 07:01 PM
help me solve this mystery please lindaberrien Roofing/Siding 17 06-12-2007 01:06 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.