How Do You Keep Track Of Circuits In Your House? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-31-2008, 12:33 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 1,205
Rewards Points: 506
Default

How do you keep track of circuits in your house?


Hi;
I'm wondering how everyone else keeps track of what breakers go to what circuits in their home.
I am using an Access 2003 database, with tables for breakers, rating, type of breaker (standard, GFCI, etc), and another for circuits which lists the rooms, locations within a room, and type of device (receptacle, light, etc).
I have relationships between tables, so I can click on breakers and find out exactly what is on that circuit. I can also do searches by room, or whatever I want.

The nice thing about the database is that I can update it very easily.
I have a printed copy downstairs next to the breaker panel as well.

Does anyone else get so "anal" about keeping track, or am I the only one?
It does help that I am trying to learn MS Access and VB, so it's good practice to design simple databases.

Thanks for your input

Advertisement

__________________

KE2KB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2008, 01:50 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 104
Rewards Points: 75
Default

How do you keep track of circuits in your house?


You are the only one. I write on the panel door on one of those little grid sticker deals. I mean, it isn't like I rewire the whole house every two weeks.

Advertisement

Bubbagump is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2008, 01:56 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,302
Rewards Points: 1,038
Question

How do you keep track of circuits in your house?


are you compliant with the third normal form of database entity relationships ? do you plan to upgrade to Oracle ? do you have a lot of VBA in the front-end of your application ?

my final concern is what happens if the circuit on which the computer runs trips, you will lose access to your Access application ?
amakarevic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2008, 02:02 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 412
Rewards Points: 254
Default

How do you keep track of circuits in your house?


I have an Excel spreadsheet that lists every outlet, switch, light fixture, appliance, etc. and its corresponding breaker. Theres nothing about wire size or anything like that. I also have this printed and placed next to the breaker panel. The panel spaces are no where near big enough to describe all of the different things hooked up to it (old house with 12 circuits).
pcampbell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2008, 02:18 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 1,205
Rewards Points: 506
Default

How do you keep track of circuits in your house?


Quote:
Originally Posted by amakarevic View Post
are you compliant with the third normal form of database entity relationships ? do you plan to upgrade to Oracle ? do you have a lot of VBA in the front-end of your application ?

my final concern is what happens if the circuit on which the computer runs trips, you will lose access to your Access application ?
Why do I get the idea that you're trying to bust me on this<g>?

Yes, actually I am trying to comply with third normal. That's why I'm breaking the data down into relevant tables, then establishing relationships between those tables.
I have a long way to go until I have a really deep understanding of building an Access/VBA or VB application, and I have been studying the Access Bible, but it really helps to play around with databases to get hands-on training.

As far as converting or sharing data with Oracle, I do not have any plans or needs for this.

Yes, I do have a printed form next to the panel box, so that I or anyone else doesn't have to access the computer.

I could never fit much on those little stick-on labels on the panel. When the electrician installed it, he had most of the circuit labels wrong anyway.
I think he copied word for word what was on the old panel, and that data wasn't correct.

I wouldn't bother with Access except for the fact that I want to learn it.
__________________

KE2KB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2008, 02:24 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,302
Rewards Points: 1,038
Default

How do you keep track of circuits in your house?


dude, i am just busting your balls, relax
amakarevic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2008, 02:25 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,723
Rewards Points: 1,266
Default

How do you keep track of circuits in your house?


I agree with Bubba.
jogr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2008, 02:25 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

How do you keep track of circuits in your house?


Quote:
I'm wondering how everyone else keeps track of what breakers go to what circuits in their home.

You need a hobby
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2008, 02:33 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 412
Rewards Points: 254
Default

How do you keep track of circuits in your house?


imagine how much time this will save next time you go to do a project

I made my wife do this with me, holy ....

IS IT ON???? IS IT OFF?? ITS OFF..... OK ITS OFF NOW!!!!!
pcampbell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2008, 03:00 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,723
Rewards Points: 1,266
Default

How do you keep track of circuits in your house?


But when I go to do a project I'm not going to rely on a piece of paper to tell me if it's hot or not. The short description on the panel cover gets me to the right breaker fast and then I test to make sure the circuit is dead.
jogr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2008, 03:23 PM   #11
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

How do you keep track of circuits in your house?


agreed.... however, would i be considered 'anal' because i write on the incoming and outgoing wiring at the box, and outlet boxes...and junction boxes... and switch boxes...with a sharpie as to what switch, line in, load out, lights, etc. is? just easier for me to keep track of what's what.


DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2008, 03:32 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 1,205
Rewards Points: 506
Default

How do you keep track of circuits in your house?


Quote:
Originally Posted by MdangermouseM View Post
agreed.... however, would i be considered 'anal' because i write on the incoming and outgoing wiring at the box, and outlet boxes...and junction boxes... and switch boxes...with a sharpie as to what switch, line in, load out, lights, etc. is? just easier for me to keep track of what's what.


DM
No, that's a damn good idea. I only wish that someone else who owned the house before we do would have done that!
I'm still trying to trace out a few old BX lines to find which is the power.
If I tear the junction apart, I will have to rewire it. Old wiring, and no extra slack in the box. Also a tiny 3" round box!
__________________

KE2KB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2008, 03:34 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 1,205
Rewards Points: 506
Default

How do you keep track of circuits in your house?


Quote:
Originally Posted by amakarevic View Post
dude, i am just busting your balls, relax
I figured that, but I'm afraid my sense of humor isn't all that good

Actually, I enjoy working with MS Office 2003 (not 2007<g>), and am always trying to come up with new uses for it besides the obvious
__________________

KE2KB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2008, 03:35 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 1,205
Rewards Points: 506
Default

How do you keep track of circuits in your house?


Quote:
Originally Posted by 220/221 View Post
You need a hobby
My hobby is Microsoft Access<g>!
__________________

KE2KB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2008, 03:36 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 1,205
Rewards Points: 506
Default

How do you keep track of circuits in your house?


Quote:
Originally Posted by jogr View Post
But when I go to do a project I'm not going to rely on a piece of paper to tell me if it's hot or not. The short description on the panel cover gets me to the right breaker fast and then I test to make sure the circuit is dead.
Neither would I. It's just a convenient way to get the right breaker when I need t do a project. I always use a tester (and make sure the tester indicates power before I shut off the breaker) to check before I open anything.

Advertisement

__________________

KE2KB is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Connecting main house to guest house... hlavine Building & Construction 31 03-28-2012 10:04 AM
replumbing an old house simonfrog Plumbing 7 01-30-2012 05:45 AM
exterior wall shift away from house ldloop Building & Construction 1 01-04-2008 06:12 AM
How long should A/C take to cool house? AllGoNoShow HVAC 2 06-17-2007 08:01 PM
help me solve this mystery please lindaberrien Roofing/Siding 17 06-12-2007 02:06 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts