Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-18-2011, 11:18 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 84
Rewards Points: 75
Default

how do i wire a well


In the house I am currently remodeling there is a well pit. my Grandparents built the house and they had a well pit for many years and they stopped using it for some reason. i want to use it as an extra source of water. what do i need to wire it?
what kind of breaker do i need?

What kind of wire do i need to wire the circuit and everything involved with the well

i know i need a 220 line so is there a special type of wire for 220?

thanks for your help

jmans8666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2011, 12:15 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 978
Rewards Points: 500
Default

how do i wire a well


Wells don't use electricity. Pump motors do. Have you identified a pump?

jlmran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2011, 12:39 AM   #3
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

how do i wire a well


As far for the pump there is a 120 volt or 240 volt verison the wire size will determed on the distance and the size of pump.

The other thing is the pressure switch et pressure tank location that will affect the way to bring out the conductors as you will see a bit.

For the conductor or cable if you are going to buried with conduit { pipe } then you have to use the THHN/THWN rated conductor if direct burail then the UF will work however there is one major achvie heel is the UF cable you only can have single circuit or MWBC if the pressure tank is the well location otherwise Conduit with THHN/THWN is better choice espcally if you have " three wire " pump set up { This is pretty common with a bit of submersable well pumps }

Most of the well pumps motor size are useally anywhere from 1/4 HP to 3/4 Hp is the most common range but there is larger units as well but if go larger we will deal with that in a bit but basic answer to cover first is size pump, Voltage , Distance. those three items will help a bit with sizing the conductors.

By the way The UF have to be buried at 24 inches { some area may say 18 inches } Conduit can deal 18 without issue. I rather suggest to use the PVC over the metal conduits for good reason.

Merci,.
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2011, 01:47 AM   #4
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

how do i wire a well


Quote:
Originally Posted by Whitepower View Post
12gauge wire
Whitepower.,

I will advise the best answer is wait until the OP answer the basic question as I mention little earier on the posting you just can NOT assumsed that 12 gauge will be a fit all the answer is no there is too many variation to deal and you have to remember the well pump motor do not like to run lower voltage than the nameplate called for { some motor can run on 208 volts without issue if they stated so on the nameplate }

The last service call I have the well driller have to call me in due someone ran 12 gauge wire but the distance that what kill the motor { it was over 400 + feet distance so have to boost it up to 8 gauge to handle the voltage drop for that distance }so therefore you can understand why wait until the OP answer it.

I have deal quite few electric motor burnout due the voltage drop when someone not pay attetion to the voltage drop issue yeah the lights are in the same sisuation as well.

Merci,.
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2011, 07:05 AM   #5
DIY staff

 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 22,135
Rewards Points: 2,912
Default

how do i wire a well


I'll interpret for you-----What pump are you using? How many amps does it require?----how long will the wires need to be?

What expansion tank and what controls?
__________________
New members: Adding your location to your profile helps in many ways.--M--
oh'mike is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to oh'mike For This Useful Post:
frenchelectrican (04-19-2011)
Old 04-19-2011, 07:17 AM   #6
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,877
Rewards Points: 2,108
Default

how do i wire a well


Quote:
Originally Posted by jmans8666 View Post
what do i need to wire it?
what kind of breaker do i need?

What kind of wire do i need to wire the circuit and everything involved with the well

i know i need a 220 line so is there a special type of wire for 220?
Considering the total lack of actual detail given, and the broad nature of the question (everything involved?), I think hiring a pro is your only proper choice.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
frenchelectrican (04-19-2011)
Old 04-19-2011, 07:56 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 84
Rewards Points: 75
Default

how do i wire a well


There's a well pit for this well. The tank i don't know what it is but all I know is that it works. The well "pit" is really close to the circuit break box. All I would need to so is run a wire to the well which is about 6 feet of wire.
jmans8666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2011, 07:57 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 84
Rewards Points: 75
Default

how do i wire a well


It's an older tank
jmans8666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2011, 08:03 AM   #9
DIY staff

 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 22,135
Rewards Points: 2,912
Default

how do i wire a well


What kind of pump? suction or submersible? What voltage and how many amps?
__________________
New members: Adding your location to your profile helps in many ways.--M--
oh'mike is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2011, 08:12 AM   #10
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,824
Rewards Points: 2,446
Default

how do i wire a well


Due to health concerns like possible contamination of your other water source or public drinking water there should be no interconnect between the two systems.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2011, 09:51 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 84
Rewards Points: 75
Default

how do i wire a well


The well water and city water will not connect
jmans8666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2011, 10:13 AM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Saskatoon Sk. Canada
Posts: 420
Rewards Points: 252
Default

how do i wire a well


You need to answer all the questions that were asked by all the members. Also include the depth and diameter of the well, depth of water etc. What is your intended use of this water(irrigation?) and expected volume and pressure?
daveb1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2011, 10:22 AM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 84
Rewards Points: 75
Default

how do i wire a well


I don't know how deep the well is its just going to be used for outside use. The well is one of the deepest wells in the community because it never went dry like some of my neighbor's. It's an old tank I dont know what type of tank it is. The electrician I had told me it needed 220 line going there.
jmans8666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2011, 10:36 AM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Saskatoon Sk. Canada
Posts: 420
Rewards Points: 252
Default

how do i wire a well


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
Considering the total lack of actual detail given, and the broad nature of the question (everything involved?), I think hiring a pro is your only proper choice.
Keep talking to your electrician. Perhaps a local well drilling company can give you some guidance.
daveb1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2011, 01:14 PM   #15
Floor Sweeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Central MN
Posts: 360
Rewards Points: 252
Default

how do i wire a well


I have a car that does not run. What parts do I need to fix the problem?


junkcollector is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to junkcollector For This Useful Post:
Saturday Cowboy (04-19-2011)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fanimation ceiling fan question: no blue wire from ceiling camrn2006 Electrical 8 03-07-2010 01:19 AM
HALP! Master/Remote Dimmer troubles! Confuserated Electrical 9 02-12-2010 04:30 PM
Burial wire and a seeming difference of opinion... SxS Electrical 19 02-24-2009 10:16 AM
hooking up dryer....bronx ny code SURFBUG Appliances 6 10-14-2008 10:41 PM
Stranded wire on screw connections BigJimmy Electrical 7 01-19-2008 03:42 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.