Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-11-2012, 08:42 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: far sw sub chicago
Posts: 3,684
Share |
Default

how do i wire this ?


hello gents.

i am wiring my living room. on one side i installed a 14-3 feed wire up to the ceiling fan & light box. the switches need to go on the opposite wall, 1 switch for each.
i would like to run only one cable, 14-3. but i can run 2 14-2's if needed.

what to do, and how ?

thanx

Fix'n it is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 09:26 PM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,528
Default

how do i wire this ?


What code cycle are you on? Your area may require a neutral at the switch locations.

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 09:31 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: virginia
Posts: 13
Default

how do i wire this ?






This may help you, i found it at http://www.wikihow.com/Wire-a-3-Way-Light-Switch,
or i found this for light and fan on separate switches http://www.doityourself.com/forum/el...-switches.html

Last edited by drwheels; 10-11-2012 at 09:37 PM. Reason: added stuff
drwheels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 09:35 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: far sw sub chicago
Posts: 3,684
Default

how do i wire this ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
What code cycle are you on? Your area may require a neutral at the switch locations.
i am tired right now. but i believe its 2001 .
Fix'n it is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 09:45 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: far sw sub chicago
Posts: 3,684
Default

how do i wire this ?


thanx, wheels. but its not a 3 way switch. its regular switching. but that the power comes in at the device, not the switch.
Fix'n it is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 10:04 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: far sw sub chicago
Posts: 3,684
Default

how do i wire this ?


well, its bed time now. i sure hope someone can get me the info i need, by 6pm friday. as that is when i have to run the cables. saturday morning is blown cellulose covering the cables day.
Fix'n it is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 10:08 PM   #7
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,528
Default

how do i wire this ?


Not leaving much time for an inspection are you?
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 05:44 AM   #8
Sparky
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 700
Default

how do i wire this ?





disregard 12-3 on picture, all whites at switches must be remarked black, diagram not code compliant with 2011 NEC
Techy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 06:24 AM   #9
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,748
Default

how do i wire this ?


I would run 14/2 to the switch, then 14/3 to the fan light.
Isn't Chicago land conduit country anyway?
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 07:09 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,546
Default

how do i wire this ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Fix'n it View Post
but that the power comes in at the device, not the switch.

power into fan location....12-3 to two single pole switch location

ground wires not shown for ease of drawing
Attached Thumbnails
how do i wire this ?-1111-existing45.jpg  
hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 07:17 AM   #11
Resi EC
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Kansas
Posts: 479
Default

how do i wire this ?


If i read the OP correctly, fix'n is trying to 3-way both the fan and the light and is wondering what wires are needed.
If i'm correct and the power is at the device (fan/light), you will need to drop a 14/2 from the F/L to the other switch location.
Then 2, 14/2 from your existing switches to the new switch location to make the 3-ways work properly.

Last edited by Gac66610; 10-12-2012 at 07:19 AM. Reason: spelling
Gac66610 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 07:22 AM   #12
Resi EC
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Kansas
Posts: 479
Default

how do i wire this ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
Not leaving much time for an inspection are you?
What are these inspections you keep talking about ...
Gac66610 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 07:32 AM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,546
Default

how do i wire this ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Gac66610 View Post
If i read the OP correctly, fix'n is trying to 3-way both the fan and the light and is wondering what wires are needed.

In the first post fix-n-it says,
"i am wiring my living room. on one side i installed a 14-3 feed wire up to the ceiling fan & light box. the switches need to go on the opposite wall, 1 switch for each"

I interpreted that as he has a ceiling fan with a light canopy and he wants to install two switches. One for the fan motor and one for the light canopy.

Just another example of a poster not explaining a situation adequately.

Oh well...you can only help so much
hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 07:36 AM   #14
Resi EC
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Kansas
Posts: 479
Default

how do i wire this ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by hammerlane View Post
In the first post fix-n-it says,
"i am wiring my living room. on one side i installed a 14-3 feed wire up to the ceiling fan & light box. the switches need to go on the opposite wall, 1 switch for each"

I interpreted that as he has a ceiling fan with a light canopy and he wants to install two switches. One for the fan motor and one for the light canopy.

Just another example of a poster not explaining a situation adequately.

Oh well...you can only help so much
Umm ...opps, you're right, I miss read (sorry)
Gac66610 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 08:47 AM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: far sw sub chicago
Posts: 3,684
Default

how do i wire this ?


the cellulose isn't happening today. i was TOLD it would be in stock friday, it wasn't. oh-well. thats HD for ya.


anyway.

techy's and hammers diagrams are what i am looking for.

thanx fella's



btw. i was tiered when i asked this question. so i described my issue as best i could.
the power to the room is on the east side. the power cable is going up to the F/L. and a cable to the switches on the west wall.
is that better ?

Fix'n it is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
THWN wire; Gray pvc Conduit; and GFCI receptacles Buzzy Electrical 29 09-26-2012 02:41 AM
ceiling fan wicked97 Electrical 4 08-21-2011 08:12 AM
convert 3 wire range junction box to receptacle filby Electrical 0 06-05-2011 01:33 AM
HALP! Master/Remote Dimmer troubles! Confuserated Electrical 9 02-12-2010 03:30 PM
hooking up dryer....bronx ny code SURFBUG Appliances 6 10-14-2008 09:41 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.