Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-29-2010, 05:36 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 215
Rewards Points: 158
Default

How do I take off the plate to the circuit box?


How do I take off the plate to the circuit box?

It looks like there is an inner plate and an outer place, but I can't seem to get it off with a regular screw drvier.

Any tips?

Some guys were out doing work, and the disconnected a breaker, and I need to reconnect it.

abefroman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2010, 05:42 PM   #2
Tool Geek
 
PaliBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Pacific Palisades CA
Posts: 2,534
Rewards Points: 2,048
Default

How do I take off the plate to the circuit box?


Can you post a Pic?
.

__________________
Disclaimer
& Stay Safe
.....Bob Lavery
PaliBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2010, 06:47 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 120
Rewards Points: 75
Default

How do I take off the plate to the circuit box?


By plate, do u mean panel cover? What brand it is?
heartlessmcfly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2010, 07:21 PM   #4
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,113
Rewards Points: 3,020
Blog Entries: 4
Default

How do I take off the plate to the circuit box?


Panel cover usually has 4 screws to remove and cover comes off.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2010, 07:52 PM   #5
Chicago, IL
 
Michael Thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,037
Rewards Points: 500
Default

How do I take off the plate to the circuit box?


First question: Do you know how to turn off power to the panel? Safely "reconnecting a circuit breaker" within an energized panelboard is likely beyond the capability of a DIYer who is uncertain how to remove the panel's deadfront.
__________________
Home Inspections, Infrared (Thermal Imaging) Leak Identification and Inspection Services, Roof, Attic, Building, Basement and Foundation Moisture Intrusion and Water Leak Inspections, Troubled Building Consultations - Serving Chicago and Suburbs http://paragoninspects.com/
Michael Thomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2010, 08:50 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 215
Rewards Points: 158
Default

How do I take off the plate to the circuit box?


I want to turn the main power off, then take off the panel to make sure the wire is still in there, I didn't see how the last guy left it. Then have a professional reattach the wire.

It has the center screw and then one more like it below, and then the four screws on the corners and two in the middle a long the outside a total of 6 on the outside.

Do I take out the 6 screws on the outside or just the 2?

I got them to turn with a thin flat head, it looks like one of the square screw drives will work too.

Here is it:

Last edited by abefroman; 11-29-2010 at 08:57 PM.
abefroman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2010, 08:54 PM   #7
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

How do I take off the plate to the circuit box?


The four corners screws that the one you take them off do NOT take the centre screws out at all leave them alone. { some will have six screws as well depending on size of panel }

A flat screw driver or *2 sqaure screwdriver will work on that one but I know Phillps screw driver may work on that as well.

Once you take the cover off do not touch super large conductor { wire } that is alive all the time.

Merci.
Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2010, 09:16 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 215
Rewards Points: 158
Default

How do I take off the plate to the circuit box?


Should it be pretty obvious what the last guy did?

Is it common to disconnect a breaker and then leave the wire in the box for reconnection at a later date? Or would he have pull it all the way though the conduit?
abefroman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2010, 09:19 PM   #9
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,921
Rewards Points: 2,238
Default

How do I take off the plate to the circuit box?


What were they doing that the breaker needed to be disconnected?
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2010, 09:20 PM   #10
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

How do I take off the plate to the circuit box?


Quote:
Originally Posted by abefroman View Post
Should it be pretty obvious what the last guy did?

Is it common to disconnect a breaker and then leave the wire in the box for reconnection at a later date? Or would he have pull it all the way though the conduit?
Yeah I do disconnect at the breaker but all it depending on what it have to be done on that circuit.

But I will not reconnect it back until you verify it is properly hook up on the device like switch or receptale etc etc to be on safe side and did the other guy is qualifed to do the electrical work ??

That one of the issue if that person is unqualifed I will not touch it until it check out thru.

Merci.
Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2010, 10:14 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 215
Rewards Points: 158
Default

How do I take off the plate to the circuit box?


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
What were they doing that the breaker needed to be disconnected?
It was shorting at the lift pump.
abefroman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2010, 10:15 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 215
Rewards Points: 158
Default

How do I take off the plate to the circuit box?


Quote:
Originally Posted by frenchelectrican View Post
Yeah I do disconnect at the breaker but all it depending on what it have to be done on that circuit.

But I will not reconnect it back until you verify it is properly hook up on the device like switch or receptale etc etc to be on safe side and did the other guy is qualifed to do the electrical work ??

That one of the issue if that person is unqualifed I will not touch it until it check out thru.

Merci.
Marc
Thanks!

abefroman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
open circuit unknown location / voltage leakage fishmanflats Electrical 4 12-23-2009 10:04 PM
Home Theater Dedicated Circuit rjschwar Electrical 20 12-16-2009 01:42 PM
Changing a 3 way circuit...using recessed lighting box as a junction box? Oxymoron Electrical 1 12-07-2009 07:46 PM
Two Different Wire gages on Same Circuit OK? Lovegasoline Electrical 5 12-02-2009 06:00 PM
Circuit out but circuit breaker didn't trip PaulenAndrew Electrical 17 08-16-2008 09:38 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.