Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-06-2009, 12:03 PM   #1
DIY Expert in Training!
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Warminster, PA
Posts: 297
Rewards Points: 250
Default

How do I replace outdoor outlet?


I have an outlet that is on an outside wall inside of a covered porch. At some point in the next 2 years the roof is coming down. In addition, currently the box is not even secured. How do I replace this so it's done correctly? Can I simply use a blue box with GFCI? I have access to the inside wall since I am redoing the garage.

Thanks.

gone_fishing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2009, 02:56 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

How do I replace outdoor outlet?


Quote:
Can I simply use a blue box with GFCI? I have access to the inside wall since I am redoing the garage.
It will be easy.

Kill power, test voltage, remove/replace, energize, test.

220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2009, 12:01 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,508
Rewards Points: 2,004
Default

How do I replace outdoor outlet?


If you mean plastic indoor box when you say blue, it must be changed to an outdoor rated box. They are usually grey and made of metal. You need to reinstall the GFCI and use a matching weatherproof cover and gasket.
Just ask the guy in the store, he will know what you need.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2009, 12:27 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Apple Valley, MN, USA
Posts: 1,000
Rewards Points: 502
Send a message via AIM to theatretch85
Default

How do I replace outdoor outlet?


Quote:
Originally Posted by J. V. View Post
If you mean plastic indoor box when you say blue, it must be changed to an outdoor rated box. They are usually grey and made of metal. You need to reinstall the GFCI and use a matching weatherproof cover and gasket.
Just ask the guy in the store, he will know what you need.
If the box is installed in the wall (not on the outside surface of the wall) it should be allowed to use a blue box like the op would like to. I assume this is what the op is looking for since he said he had access to the inside wall since he is remodeling his garage. If the box is entirely outside then it must be a weather-rated box like J.V. was talking about. Don't forget that code now requires GFCI outlet and Wet-Location "While-in-use" covers as well.
theatretch85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2009, 01:24 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

How do I replace outdoor outlet?


Quote:
Just ask the guy in the store, he will know what you need
Funniest.....post.....ever
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replace door sill = Need new door? NNJGUY Carpentry 23 09-01-2009 01:54 PM
Carrier 58 PAV-repair vs. replace cczkcb HVAC 8 09-25-2008 12:57 PM
Should I replace all of the plumbing? Pics enclosed? twilightcall Plumbing 15 01-23-2008 08:50 AM
Replace main panel? And lots of other ?s Bcoleman6 Electrical 13 01-22-2008 09:40 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.