How Do I Install A Second Light...? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical


CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-17-2012, 01:13 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

How do i install a second light...?


I have an existing exterior light which is controlled by a simple indoor on/off switch. I want to install further away a second light which will be controlled by a motion detector, and I want to connect myself to the first light. How do I complete the wiring so that even when power to the first light is off, I have power to the second light at all times? Can I get a diagram with the explanation? Thanks!

Advertisement

Giuseppe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2012, 02:55 AM   #2
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Giuseppe View Post
I have an existing exterior light which is controlled by a simple indoor on/off switch. I want to install further away a second light which will be controlled by a motion detector, and I want to connect myself to the first light. How do I complete the wiring so that even when power to the first light is off, I have power to the second light at all times? Can I get a diagram with the explanation? Thanks!
Very simple from the switch to the first luminaire you can change from XX-2 to XX-3 so the black is constant hot the red one is switched so you can able wired like that way however the issue is the switch location to the luminarie if very close it may be not too bad to fish in new wire.

What kind of structure your place is now ?? wood or brick or what ??

Once we get couple basic question answered then we can go from there.

Merci,
Marc

Advertisement

__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2012, 07:58 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 7,895
Rewards Points: 1,396
Default


You need to find out where the power comes in, which may be either the original switch or the original light.

Run the new cable from the power location to the new motion detector and continue the new cable from the motion detector to the second light.

Use the same size (12 gauge or 14 gauge) for the new cable as are the existing cables.
__________________
The good conscientious technician or serviceperson will carry extra oils and lubricants in case the new pump did not come with oil or the oil was accidentally spilled, so the service call can be completed without an extra visit.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2012, 08:51 AM   #4
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 7,719
Rewards Points: 1,788
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Giuseppe View Post
I have an existing exterior light which is controlled by a simple indoor on/off switch. I want to install further away a second light which will be controlled by a motion detector, and I want to connect myself to the first light. How do I complete the wiring so that even when power to the first light is off, I have power to the second light at all times? Can I get a diagram with the explanation? Thanks!
If this will be a motion detector with no switching relation to the first light then why are you intent on using that as your feed??

Just find a constant feed (a lighting circuit is best since there are restrictions on many receptacle circuits) and run it to the MD light. Wire it up in a typical fashion. The unit will likely have basic instructions.

Sorry, I don't do hand-holding wire-for-wire diagrams. I feel if you need that you shouldn't be doing the job. Knowing what wires to connect to where is the easy part. There are a lot of other codes to consider as well.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2012, 09:27 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,769
Rewards Points: 2,494
Default


If you have power coming into the existing light fixture location:

In this setup you would have to hope that you have 3 conductor cable from the existing light to the switch location. If not you would have to use the existing 2 conductor cable to pull a 3 conductor cable.
Attached Thumbnails
How do i install a second light...?-powr-light-switch-then-2nd-light-always-.jpg  

Last edited by hammerlane; 06-17-2012 at 11:55 AM.
hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2012, 09:27 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,769
Rewards Points: 2,494
Default


If you have power coming into the switch location:
Attached Thumbnails
How do i install a second light...?-power-switch-2-lites-one-light-always-.jpg  
hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2012, 09:43 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,769
Rewards Points: 2,494
Default


Heres another way where power is supplied at switch and you pick up power for the motion controlled light from the location of the existing light. In this way you will need a 3-conductor cable w/ground from the switch location to the existing light location. Chances are now you only have a 2 conductor cable w/ground going from switch location to the existing light location. So you would need to pull a new 3-cond cable.

In all my diagrams I do not show the ground wire just for ease of drawing.
Attached Thumbnails
How do i install a second light...?-power-switch-2-lites-one-light-always-1.jpg  
hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2012, 07:11 PM   #8
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 7,719
Rewards Points: 1,788
Default


It is incredibly nice of you Hammerlane do make up those diagrams. I just hope now that the OP knows what wire to connect to what he knows all the other wiring codes to do this job legally and safely.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2012, 07:30 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,769
Rewards Points: 2,494
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
It is incredibly nice of you Hammerlane do make up those diagrams. I just hope now that the OP knows what wire to connect to what he knows all the other wiring codes to do this job legally and safely.

I have a lot of these type diagrams made up in a folder for different situations. Some I have to tweek by adding or subtracting something.

I agree that hopefully the poster can identify which wires are his hot and or travelers
hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 06:26 AM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default


Wow, thank you very much! Especially for the diagrams that are very clear!
Thanks again.

Advertisement

Giuseppe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
confusion with track light stephenbishop Electrical 7 03-10-2012 02:37 PM
How to install an outlet to a light bulb fixture. enforcefx Electrical 2 10-17-2011 09:08 AM
Ceiling fan light kit duhtroll Electrical 10 06-21-2011 03:29 PM
Install kitchen light Firedog1 Electrical 9 11-07-2010 09:48 PM
Trouble with install of light fixture cmonsterjr Electrical 5 12-28-2008 08:06 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

 

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1