Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-07-2010, 10:36 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 101
Share |
Default

How do I install Outdoor Junction Box.


I am running an new circuit to supply 2 new runs of 110volt lines... I already ran the lines using the UF outdoor cable 21 inches under ground.... and under my new patio. I have the runs come up conduit nex to the house. what type of box do i use to make the junction of the 2... dont want a outlet here just a junction... I am having trouble finding the right box .. I THINK? I found a plastic carlon weather proof box to accomodate my 2 runs electrical (inside conduit). but there is no hole in the back to go into my house. can i drill a hole and hook conduit (run this into my house) then caulk it? Is this code? whats code and can u give me suggestions. also can i run romex from in house just to the box to connect to the outside UF cable runs?

thanks.

luweee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2010, 12:03 AM   #2
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

How do I install Outdoor Junction Box.


Some of the plastique boxes you can bore the hole in the back which I have done quite few time and when you get done just seal it up with chalk on the top and side but not the bottom { so this way the moisture and water can drain out otherwise it can ruin the wood }

And make sure you have RCD { GFCI } receptales on this circuits .

Yes you can bring the NM from inside to the outside juction box where you change over to UF cable that is not a issue as long you done it properly.

Yes there is blank plastique cover for it many big box store will stock it they should be less than a Euro or so.

Merci.
Marc

frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2010, 07:02 AM   #3
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,772
Default

How do I install Outdoor Junction Box.


Quote:
Originally Posted by luweee View Post
I am running an new circuit to supply 2 new runs of 110volt lines... I already ran the lines using the UF outdoor cable 21 inches under ground.... and under my new patio. I have the runs come up conduit nex to the house. what type of box do i use to make the junction of the 2... dont want a outlet here just a junction... I am having trouble finding the right box .. I THINK? I found a plastic carlon weather proof box to accomodate my 2 runs electrical (inside conduit). but there is no hole in the back to go into my house. can i drill a hole and hook conduit (run this into my house) then caulk it? Is this code? whats code and can u give me suggestions. also can i run romex from in house just to the box to connect to the outside UF cable runs?

thanks.
I am having a very hard time visualizing what it is you are doing here. You are describing it like we can see it, yet we cannot.
Can you post a few pics of the areas you are referring to?
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2010, 12:50 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 101
Default

How do I install Outdoor Junction Box.


How do I install Outdoor Junction Box.-img_1320.jpg

How do I install Outdoor Junction Box.-img_1321.jpg

How do I install Outdoor Junction Box.-img_1322.jpg

How do I install Outdoor Junction Box.-img_1323.jpg


ALso can i just use a circuit breaker at the ckt breaker box that is gfci instead of outlets that are gfci?

thanks
luweee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2010, 01:02 PM   #5
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,324
Default

How do I install Outdoor Junction Box.


GFI protection can be from a GFI breaker or receptacle.

You would drill both the back of the box and house in order to connect the cables from inside the house to the junction box. Use a good quality caulk on the top and sides where the box meets the house.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
luweee (09-08-2010)
Old 09-08-2010, 01:11 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 101
Default

How do I install Outdoor Junction Box.


so can i just use ordinary house outlets then? of course inside my weather proof/covered outlet boxes?
luweee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2010, 03:26 PM   #7
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,772
Default

How do I install Outdoor Junction Box.


Quote:
Originally Posted by luweee View Post
so can i just use ordinary house outlets then? of course inside my weather proof/covered outlet boxes?
With a GFI breaker, yes.

Great pics BTW.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
luweee (09-08-2010)
Old 09-08-2010, 09:35 PM   #8
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

How do I install Outdoor Junction Box.


Good photo to show us what ya talking about and yes drill a hole back of the plastique box which I have done pretty often and just make sure you seal the top and side but not much on the bottom { you will need to keep it open some way to keep the mositure drain out }

For the RCD { GFCI } you can have it either receptale or breaker location.

Merci.
Marc

frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
cutting shingles to install gutters Chicago Bill General DIY Discussions 2 02-27-2009 05:42 AM
New Cased Coil - Install to Furnace - PICTURES!! hartkem HVAC 39 11-18-2008 01:45 AM
When to install tile flooring? MT Stringer Remodeling 4 10-28-2008 08:49 PM
How to install resilient channel on ceiling Bcoleman6 Building & Construction 1 08-22-2008 02:29 PM
Fiberock install STUPID Flooring 5 10-16-2007 06:29 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.