Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-10-2012, 03:07 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

How do I ground again?


Hey, had an Electricity class back in high school but it's been so long I don't remember how to fix my problem (or if I can fix it even).

I broke a light switch(es) in my apartment, so I went out and bought a new one to replace it. But when I was unscrewing the old switches I pulled too hard on one of the ground wires and it broke out from wherever it was connected.

What I was wondering was, what can I connect the ground wire so that both switches work?

Here is the picture below.



Switch to "SA" broke off. So I replaced switches. Reconnecting "SA" was fine but the ground wire for "SB" broke off from somewhere. So what should I do with the wire at "G1"? Would it be alright if I connected it to "G2"? What about connecting the wire at "G1" to "G3"? If those methods don't work then what else can I do?

Any help would be appreciated, thanks.

NewbornZyntax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 05:19 PM   #2
Resi EC
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Kansas
Posts: 479
Default

How do I ground again?


The black feed, is fed through the switch from point g1 to g2. The black wire appears to have come off another screw, is there another switch in the box?

The green screw is the only ground on the switch, is there a bare wire hanging out of the box? If so it ties to the green screw.

That's a good picture of the switch, do you have one of the box?

Gac66610 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 08:56 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,372
Default

How do I ground again?


The switchs should work reguardless of where the ground wire is !
It might not be code complient, but it should still work.
Sorry to nit pick !

It looks like SB & G1 are switch one.
SA & G2 are switch two.
G3 looks like the ground.

The SB wire that broke off is not a ground wire,
It is either the hot supply for that light,
Or its the switched supply for that light.

A quick test with a tester will tell you which one it is.
If it remains live reguardless of switch position then its the hot supply.
If not, its probably the switched supply to light.

Last edited by dmxtothemax; 09-10-2012 at 09:04 PM.
dmxtothemax is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 08:59 PM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,692
Default

How do I ground again?


Quote:
Originally Posted by dmxtothemax View Post
The switchs should work reguardless of where the ground wire is !
It might not be code complient, but it should still work.
Sorry to nit pick !
How so?
If the ground wire is connected to the load side of the switch, tripped breaker.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 09:05 PM   #5
Resi EC
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Kansas
Posts: 479
Default

How do I ground again?


By OP description they are all ground wires
Gac66610 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 09:07 PM   #6
Resi EC
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Kansas
Posts: 479
Default

How do I ground again?


Quote:
Originally Posted by dmxtothemax View Post
The switchs should work reguardless of where the ground wire is !
It might not be code complient, but it should still work.
Sorry to nit pick !

It looks like SB & G1 are switch one.
SA & G2 are switch two.
G3 looks like the ground.

The SB wire that broke off is not a ground wire,
It is either the hot supply for that light,
Or its the switched supply for that light.

A quick test with a tester will tell you which one it is.
If it remains live reguardless of switch position then its the hot supply.
If not, its probably the switched supply to light.
You can see the brass tab connecting the two visible screws, so that would be the hot side, switch legs on the other side.
Gac66610 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 10:55 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,646
Default

How do I ground again?


you have a picture of the new switch?
DannyT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 12:08 AM   #8
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

How do I ground again?


The G1 and G2 is your actual supply connection and that screw is very dark brass colour or black screw.

The SB is your other black or red conductor to the luminare ( light fixure ) and the SA other black conductor for fan or something else.

The green / hex screw is for ground or bare conductor ( G3 )

Take a photo of the switch box itself we can able indentify it.

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 06:17 AM   #9
DIY staff
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 21,259
Default

How do I ground again?


OP seems confuse with the wording---he is ,perhaps calling the neutral wire a ground---
__________________
New members: Adding your location to your profile helps in many ways.--M--
oh'mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 01:46 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 3
Default

How do I ground again?


I probably am confused with wording. Was under the impression any black wires were ground.
Anyways, he new switch has been installed, everything is installed normally except for the G1's wire - instead it's just a bare screw doing nothing.
As it is now, both switches work correctly.
I looked inside before, and couldn't find what the pulled out wire was connected to.
I don't have a picture but I can get one if its necessary.

Should I keep it this way? is it safe?
NewbornZyntax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 02:32 PM   #11
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,692
Default

How do I ground again?


Take a pic and post it.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 11:25 PM   #12
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

How do I ground again?


Quote:
Originally Posted by NewbornZyntax View Post
I probably am confused with wording. Was under the impression any black wires were ground.
Anyways, he new switch has been installed, everything is installed normally except for the G1's wire - instead it's just a bare screw doing nothing.
As it is now, both switches work correctly.
I looked inside before, and couldn't find what the pulled out wire was connected to.
I don't have a picture but I can get one if its necessary.

Should I keep it this way? is it safe?
I wrote the underline the standard household electrique system the black is NOT the ground it is a hot conductor the white is netural and bare and green is ground.

On automovitive useage sure the black is negtive so it used as ground but both are not the same function as you expected to see.

And the Household system is AC ( alternating current so it will change from post to neg back and forth many time in a second ) not a DC ( Direct Current as you have in the automotive )

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 05:31 AM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,372
Default

How do I ground again?


Quote:
Originally Posted by NewbornZyntax View Post
I probably am confused with wording. Was under the impression any black wires were ground.
NOT SO !

Black is not ground when used with white wires in the mains system !

The only time black is ground,
is in low voltage DC systems
where black is used with a red wire.

Please dont confuse this, it is important !

In mains system -

Black is hot.
White is neutral.
Green or bare is earth.
Earth and neutral should be treated as seperate wires.
Even thou they may be interconnectted at some point.
dmxtothemax is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2012, 05:06 PM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 3
Default

How do I ground again?


Couldn't really get any better pictures. The color of the other wires are yellow.







NewbornZyntax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2012, 05:10 PM   #15
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,692
Default

How do I ground again?


Next time turn the power off before removing the switch.
Remove the little plastic peices holding the mounting screws to the switch, and the switch will be grounded when you screw it back into the box.

Also, the pic with the two yellow wires, the one on the left needs to be turned around the screw so it tightens when the screw is tightened.

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"

Last edited by jbfan; 09-13-2012 at 05:12 PM.
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
To ground or not to ground Red Squirrel Electrical 2 10-14-2010 08:42 PM
Wiring an outlet using both ground screws instead of pig-tailing together. cabber24 Electrical 5 08-26-2010 08:40 AM
Electrical Ground Problem cabinetman Electrical 15 01-28-2010 04:55 PM
Live ground wire in dryer Retired sailor Electrical 10 05-04-2009 03:26 PM
Hot Tub Install--Grounding Rod Question statgeek_rob Electrical 16 09-15-2007 02:59 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.