Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 03-02-2013, 05:55 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

How do I attach a 4 prong cord to 3 prong outlet?

My apologies if this is a repeat. I found some similar but not exact or where I couldn't really follow the answer.

While completely able to execute projects when given clear directions, I am no electrician. I have a basic understanding of loads, etc. but if you start getting more complicated with "phases" and the such, you are going to hurt my brain pretty quickly. I am hoping the experts or experienced DIYers here can give me some clear, simple, plain language advice.

I have a Reliance Controls 31410CRK transfer switch installed in my garage. The inlet and matching power cord are "L14-30" and the description reads "Most portable generators suitable for 120/240 full-power operation are supplied with either a 20-amp or 30-amp, 4-wire locking receptacle that accepts the locking plug and connector on each end of the cord set." The cord came with a converter which basically changes it from a 30-amp to a 20-amp, but it's still the same size 4-wire end (the tab on one of the prongs is just turned the other way). The only problem is...

...I have a Champion #40026 3000 watt (3500 startup) generator. It has two outlets (besides the regular ones). Here are the descriptions (from the user guide):

Outlet 1: RV Ready - TT-30R outlet. 120V / 30A RV Receptacle Protected by a 25 Amp Flip -to-reset circuit breaker . This receptacle
powers 120 Volt AC, 60 Hz, single phase loads requiring up to 25 Amps or 3000 Watts of power.

Outlet 2: This is a twist lock outlet similar to the transfer switch inlet, but with only 3 prongs. The description reads "120V / 30A Twist-Lock Protected by a 25 Amp Flip-to-reset circuit breaker . This receptacle powers 120 Volt AC, 60 Hz, single phase loads requiring up to 25 Amps or 3000 Watts of power."