How Deep Should PVC Conduit Be In Slab? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-27-2012, 10:23 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 58
Rewards Points: 75
Default

how deep should PVC conduit be in slab?


OK in preparation for the kitchen island - I'm cutting a channel into the slab to run electric (about 2' from the wall)- I cut down about 2.5" and about 3.5" wide in the concrete - I rented a power chisel. To go deeper seems to really be a challenge- Can I lay the PVC in and cover with concrete from here? What determines the depth that it needs to be? I can't see weight being an issue- Once the concrete hardens around the PVC and the floor gets installed.....thoughts? suggestions?

Advertisement

skinut2234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2012, 10:37 PM   #2
Licensed Electrician
 
jrclen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 982
Rewards Points: 500
Default

how deep should PVC conduit be in slab?


The National Electric Code determines this. Table 300.5 note 2 requires the conduit to be surrounded by 2" of concrete. What size conduit are you using?

Advertisement

__________________
John
jrclen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2012, 10:45 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 58
Rewards Points: 75
Default

how deep should PVC conduit be in slab?


3/4" PVC Conduit
skinut2234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2012, 10:49 PM   #4
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,761
Rewards Points: 1,102
Default

how deep should PVC conduit be in slab?


Quote:
Originally Posted by jrclen
The National Electric Code determines this. Table 300.5 note 2 requires the conduit to be surrounded by 2" of concrete. What size conduit are you using?
The NEC does not require the conduit to be surrounded by 2" of concrete. It can be laid on the soil and concreted over.
__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2012, 11:05 PM   #5
Resi EC
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Kansas
Posts: 479
Rewards Points: 250
Default

how deep should PVC conduit be in slab?


Quote:
Originally Posted by electures View Post
The NEC does not require the conduit to be surrounded by 2" of concrete. It can be laid on the soil and concreted over.
It needs to be covered by 2" of concrete
Gac66610 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2012, 11:13 PM   #6
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,572
Rewards Points: 2,040
Default

how deep should PVC conduit be in slab?


The standard approach to solving this problem is to cut all the way through the slab with a saw, and lay the conduit under the slab. It is easier than making a shallower channel. Chiseling a channel through concrete is REALLY HARD as you discovered, but making two sawcuts through the slab a few inches apart is really easy. You still need a rotohammer or small jackhammer to break up and remove the pieces, but it's about a 30 minute job with the right tools, rather than all day with a rotohammer trying to chisel 3" deep groove in the slab.
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to mpoulton For This Useful Post:
AndyGump (09-28-2012)
Old 09-27-2012, 11:14 PM   #7
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,761
Rewards Points: 1,102
Default

how deep should PVC conduit be in slab?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Gac66610

It needs to be covered by 2" of concrete
No. Since it is under the building it can be 0" deep. It is covered by the thickness of the slab.
__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.

Last edited by electures; 09-27-2012 at 11:17 PM.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2012, 11:49 PM   #8
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,032
Rewards Points: 2,862
Default

how deep should PVC conduit be in slab?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Gac66610 View Post
It needs to be covered by 2" of concrete
Could you cite the NEC rule for this?
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
electures (09-28-2012), mpoulton (09-28-2012)
Old 09-28-2012, 07:11 AM   #9
Resi EC
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Kansas
Posts: 479
Rewards Points: 250
Default

how deep should PVC conduit be in slab?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
Could you cite the NEC rule for this?
Table 300.5, Notes
Gac66610 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2012, 07:57 AM   #10
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,761
Rewards Points: 1,102
Default

how deep should PVC conduit be in slab?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Gac66610 View Post
Table 300.5, Notes
If you are refering to Note 2, it states;

2. Raceways approved for burial only where concrete encased shall require concrete envelope not less than 50 mm (2 in.) thick.


PVC does not require concrete encasement and is "Listed for direct burial without concrete encasement", therefore Note 2 does not apply. Refering to Table 300.5, Row 3, labeled "Under a building", Column 3, the required depth is 0". The OP just needs to break through the slab and lay the PVC on top of the dirt. Then concrete over the pipe. Done.

__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.

Last edited by electures; 09-28-2012 at 08:01 AM.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to electures For This Useful Post:
Code05 (09-28-2012)
Old 09-28-2012, 08:19 AM   #11
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

how deep should PVC conduit be in slab?


300.5, Note 2 is referring to conduit like EB20 - not PVC 40 or 80.
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2012, 09:01 AM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 58
Rewards Points: 75
Default

how deep should PVC conduit be in slab?


let me clarify- I don't know how thick the slab is- It's not a new house- it's an existing house built in the mid 70's in NJ. I was going with the channel since after chiseling down 2" or so- It's getting really hard to go any deeper and I thought by going down 2" and then laying the PVC in the slab- I could cover it back up with high strength concrete. Won't that keep the PVC well secured?
skinut2234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2012, 09:30 AM   #13
Licensed Electrician
 
jrclen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 982
Rewards Points: 500
Default

how deep should PVC conduit be in slab?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Code05 View Post
300.5, Note 2 is referring to conduit like EB20 - not PVC 40 or 80.
Can you cite something on this? I really would like to know. I have laid PVC in concrete channels cut in slabs and was required to cover the conduit with 2" of concrete. Evidently some slabs are not allowed to be cut through. But that's completely out of my field so I may well be wrong about this.
__________________
John
jrclen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2012, 10:28 AM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 230
Rewards Points: 154
Default

how deep should PVC conduit be in slab?


Quote:
Originally Posted by jrclen View Post
Evidently some slabs are not allowed to be cut through. But that's completely out of my field so I may well be wrong about this.
That would be tensioned concrete. They have steel cables running through them keeping tension on the concrete. If one gets cut, the concrete can lose some of its strength.
herdfan is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to herdfan For This Useful Post:
jrclen (09-28-2012)
Old 09-28-2012, 12:13 PM   #15
Resi EC
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Kansas
Posts: 479
Rewards Points: 250
Default

how deep should PVC conduit be in slab?


So you (a long with others) are saying that PVC can not be used in concrete?
I read Notes 2, and 5, both say minimum of 2" concrete, so how would a slab be any different?

Advertisement

Gac66610 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Building Floating Deck over ground and Concrete slab jagnew Building & Construction 2 05-27-2012 01:10 PM
Pier on slab cer2012 Building & Construction 0 04-16-2012 09:52 PM
Slab leak or not? loveyolife Plumbing 11 04-01-2012 02:25 AM
What conduit should I use? mulltron Electrical 6 07-12-2011 02:34 AM
Extending Concrete Patio Slab bobo Building & Construction 6 04-17-2008 01:17 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts