How To Connect Switch To GFCI Breaker? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-28-2008, 07:54 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Question

How to connect switch to GFCI breaker?


I have installed a bathroom vent fan above the shower/tub and need to make sure I connect this to a GFCI breaker. The vanity light and bathroom fan are currently connect to a switch that is NOT on a GFCI breaker. There is a outlet in the bathroom that IS on a GFCI circuit breaker. I know next to nothing about electrical work but it seems like the simple solution would be to somehow get the switch that controls the vanity light and bathroom fan to also be connected to the GFCI circuit breaker. I have no idea why this was not done in the first place. All wiring is 14/2. Any ideas are appreciated. Thanks.

Advertisement

firemanter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2008, 07:59 PM   #2
Member
 
dSilanskas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Posts: 474
Rewards Points: 250
Default

How to connect switch to GFCI breaker?


They do sell switches that have a GFCI protection built inside of them. Very easy to install just go to a electrical store and ask for a GFCI switch!

Advertisement

dSilanskas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2008, 08:04 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

How to connect switch to GFCI breaker?


That is awesome. Thanks. Do they make GFCI switches that look normal (except for the test and reset buttons)? All the ones I find are receptacle/switch combos or look nothing like a normal switch.

Last edited by firemanter; 10-28-2008 at 08:30 PM.
firemanter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2008, 08:46 PM   #4
Member
 
dSilanskas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Posts: 474
Rewards Points: 250
Default

How to connect switch to GFCI breaker?


Quote:
Originally Posted by firemanter View Post
That is awesome. Thanks. Do they make GFCI switches that look normal (except for the test and reset buttons)? All the ones I find are receptacle/switch combos or look nothing like a normal switch.

The only ones that I have seen look like GFCI's just a switch on the top and a test reset button on the bottom. If you dont want that look than yeah a GFCI breaker is the best bet
dSilanskas is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bathroom , circuit breakers , gfci


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New GFCI Breaker Tripping w/ 3-way Flourescents BigJimmy Electrical 8 12-29-2008 03:29 PM
Switch trips Breaker pvrio Electrical 4 09-21-2008 05:53 PM
GFCI switch to control outside outlets billgeo Electrical 14 09-09-2008 12:09 AM
GFCI light switch trips once per night ???? mw6263 Electrical 11 07-25-2008 12:05 PM
20 Amp Breaker tripping with GFCI panhandlion Electrical 7 12-12-2007 09:59 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts