Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-27-2010, 07:18 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

how to connect from meter to 3 loads.


OK here is what I have. Sorry if my terminology is wrong.

200 amp meter service with a 200 amp breaker in a box below it.

Loads : (note the cabin is not near the other two loads)

1) 12x24 cabin about 120 feet away. It already has 4/0 aluminum (direct burial) run to an outside breaker box on the cabin. It is connected to the box under my meter. I need 100 amps at this building.

2) Water well. Not connected will be dug shortly. About 60 feet from the meter too far from the cabin.

3) Shop. Need about 60 amps here. 40 feet from meter.

Here is what I would like to do.

Run 4/0 from meter to some sort of box. Box will be located behind shop. Run 3 cables from the box. 4/0 to cabin (total one way distance 160), run 4 awg to the shop and 6 awg to the well. All underground burial in conduit.

Here is my question:

How do I do this? What sort of box do I need that can accept two 4/0 aluminum connections?(in and out) I could run a connection from shop to well if I need to.

Thank you
ahill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2010, 08:00 PM   #2
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,679
Default

how to connect from meter to 3 loads.


A feed-through panel has a main breaker, several branch circuit breaker spaces, and lugs out the bottom to carry the full panel amperage out to another feeder.

Put in breakers for the shop and well and then send the 4/0AL out from the feed-through lugs to the cabin panel inside.

I like to use a meter/main/feed-through for this. One enclosure does it all.
I just installed one today in fact.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
ahill (07-27-2010)
Old 07-28-2010, 12:27 AM   #3
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

how to connect from meter to 3 loads.


The feed thru load centre is the best item you can have due they have take off lugs so you can attached larger cable below the bussbar while you have few spaces for breakers for other subpanels like pump house or your shop.

Last year when I was still in Wisconsin I allready installed 4 of them they work very slick with it.

Merci.
Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2-wire meter how to connect nema 14-30 jsamrockey Electrical 0 07-14-2010 03:19 AM
Tiny elbows on meter? pcampbell HVAC 24 10-06-2009 09:54 AM
Water meter aggravations KE2KB Plumbing 8 03-21-2009 06:53 AM
Frozen water meter stubborn1 Plumbing 5 01-26-2009 06:35 AM
Meter ratings Stubbie Electrical 3 04-02-2008 10:12 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.