Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-09-2012, 11:17 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 34
Rewards Points: 25
Default

How to connect armored cable to J-box?


what is the best way to cut the metal sheathing off this type of cable?

http://www.seatekco.com/images/bx-02cw.jpg

do you know how you're supposed to connect it into a junction box? are you supposed to use one of those threaded round connections that you would use to attach a metal conduit to a box?

lmorsino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2012, 11:19 PM   #2
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

How to connect armored cable to J-box?


Bend it till it breaks, then cut the metal with a pair of dykes. You need a listed connector to connect the cable to a JBox. Ask for a MC connector.

__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2012, 11:19 PM   #3
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,837
Rewards Points: 2,472
Default

How to connect armored cable to J-box?


A tool called a Roto-split is nice to strip of the sheath. There are other methods like a pair of dykes or a hacksaw blade also.

You need to use a listed connector to connect the cable to the box. There are both push-in and setscrew connectors.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2012, 11:32 PM   #4
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto Ontario
Posts: 1,165
Rewards Points: 500
Default

How to connect armored cable to J-box?


We don't have metallic sheath up here without a ground. Do you still have to use the grounding straps on your bx?
__________________
Sarcasm is my friend
I'm here to learn too, i do mostly commercial/industrial/new construction and this place is a great way to pick up tips on residential from some good electrical minds. Excuse the spelling, my phone has a mind of it's own.
andrew79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2012, 11:37 PM   #5
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

How to connect armored cable to J-box?


What do you mean by grounding straps?

We now have AC and MC cable. AC has a larger aluminum bonding strip and doesn't contain an actual ground wire. MC does contain a ground wire.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
andrew79 (07-09-2012)
Old 07-09-2012, 11:52 PM   #6
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto Ontario
Posts: 1,165
Rewards Points: 500
Default

How to connect armored cable to J-box?


Ahh ok it has a bonding strip. I just remember talking to a guy back a few years that said a ground strap used to be used for bx to connect the cable sheath to the box screw.
__________________
Sarcasm is my friend
I'm here to learn too, i do mostly commercial/industrial/new construction and this place is a great way to pick up tips on residential from some good electrical minds. Excuse the spelling, my phone has a mind of it's own.
andrew79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2012, 11:56 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 34
Rewards Points: 25
Default

How to connect armored cable to J-box?


Wow, such fast responses. Thanks a lot, gentlemen!
lmorsino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 12:11 AM   #8
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

How to connect armored cable to J-box?


Whatever you do with the MC or BX or AC cable when you bend them a little and use the hacksaw do NOT cut too deep otherwise you will hit the conductors very easy without feeling them being hit.

I have used the Rotozip all the time due I have alot of them to use.

As other guys they did hit on the target.

If you want try to use the scrap peice first to get a feel on how it react when you do the cutting first so you will know how far you can do with it.

And make sure you have antishorting bushing on hand and be aware with connectors you have to pay attetion which connector you can use.

I used the MC connector due it have a stop on the end so you can not over shoot when you string them in the connector so let me post a photo if I can find it.

Ahh Bon found it .,,



Keep in your mind there are few differnt verison and style they are used.

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to frenchelectrican For This Useful Post:
andrew79 (07-10-2012)
Old 07-10-2012, 12:29 AM   #9
liscenced electrician
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Oregon coast
Posts: 986
Rewards Points: 504
Default

How to connect armored cable to J-box?


There are many different types of armored cable. If youre only doing 1 cable, you can take your time with it. Take a hacksaw blade and cut a ring around where you want it cut. Cut deep enough to where you start cutting through the metal, but not so deep you are all the way through and start cutting in to the wire. Then bend and break the metal off. Then what i sometimes do, when i have time, is pull on the wire so the wire comes as far out of the metal sheeth as possible and put a few wraps of tape around the conductors. Then when you let go of the wires (since you are still pulling on them) they will suck back in to the sheeth. That way, where the sharp edges are, there is electrical tape there to help insulate it. When doing multiple connections at work, nobody has time for all that. Just nip it with the dykes and bend it and it will break. Then clean it up with another cut with the dykes. I hate rotosplits. Cumbersome pieces of crap

jimmy21 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
armored cable romo Electrical 2 05-17-2012 03:36 PM
ceiling fan wicked97 Electrical 4 08-21-2011 09:12 AM
Inside Walls Cable Fishing/Routing tk3000 Building & Construction 9 07-05-2011 09:15 AM
Finer Points of Armored Cable smata67 Electrical 7 06-02-2010 07:09 PM
NM to Armored Cable Transition? toddmanqa Electrical 8 10-31-2008 04:29 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.