Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-08-2011, 05:17 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

How to connect 2 lights to a double switch


I want to wire 2 lights to a double switch. The lights are ceiling lights but want to convert them to a plug.
i have a double switch,on the back it is labelled way1 and way2 and common at the top. On the other side of the switch it is the same.

I would like to know how to connect to the switch and plug, a diagram would be helpful.

thanks

B4rg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2011, 09:02 PM   #2
Scared Electrician
 
Saturday Cowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 715
Default

How to connect 2 lights to a double switch


what exactly are you trying to do? and by double switch you mean two switches in one? install plug in the cieling?

__________________
Ragged Trousered Philanthropist


Please follow the code - its there for your safety no matter how inconvenient.
Saturday Cowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2011, 09:15 PM   #3
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,450
Default

How to connect 2 lights to a double switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by B4rg View Post
...a diagram would be helpful.

thanks
A picture of the switch would be too.
__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2011, 09:29 PM   #4
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

How to connect 2 lights to a double switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by B4rg View Post
I want to wire 2 lights to a double switch. The lights are ceiling lights but want to convert them to a plug.
i have a double switch,on the back it is labelled way1 and way2 and common at the top. On the other side of the switch it is the same.

I would like to know how to connect to the switch and plug, a diagram would be helpful.

thanks
The way you describing I did catch what ya saying here .,, you do denfintaly have three way switch.

It will be very differucalt to run a unswitched plug unless you know which spot you getting incomming power source there will be one of the three spots depending on how it ran the cable or conductors.

Merci.
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2011, 07:08 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 2
Default

How to connect 2 lights to a double switch


Thanks for the replies.
I have 2 ceiling lights with no access to no mains except by outlet. So I need to put a plug on them this will be my source of power

The double switch:
http://www.wickes.co.uk/content/ebiz...-Way_large.jpg

My question is how doi connect them up so if I put one switch on oe light would work and f I put the other switch on the other light would work
B4rg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2011, 08:17 AM   #6
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Default

How to connect 2 lights to a double switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by B4rg View Post
Thanks for the replies.
I have 2 ceiling lights with no access to no mains except by outlet. So I need to put a plug on them this will be my source of power

The double switch:
http://www.wickes.co.uk/content/ebiz...-Way_large.jpg

My question is how doi connect them up so if I put one switch on oe light would work and f I put the other switch on the other light would work
Your project is a little vague to us. The ceiling lights, are they currently operated with a pull chain but you want to install a switched receptacle and then plug these lights into this switched receptacle?
Where do you live?
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2011, 09:09 AM   #7
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,450
Default

How to connect 2 lights to a double switch


Corsair...I'm thinking outside North America...his link to the picture of the switch is from the UK. Marc seems to know what he's talking about.
__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to SD515 For This Useful Post:
frenchelectrican (05-09-2011)
Old 05-09-2011, 09:18 PM   #8
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

How to connect 2 lights to a double switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by B4rg View Post
Thanks for the replies.
I have 2 ceiling lights with no access to no mains except by outlet. So I need to put a plug on them this will be my source of power

The double switch:
http://www.wickes.co.uk/content/ebiz...-Way_large.jpg

My question is how doi connect them up so if I put one switch on oe light would work and f I put the other switch on the other light would work
Ok.,

Now we are getting somewhere and senice you mention you are from UK area so.,, there is two diffrent way to do the double single pointer {pole} switches it will depending on if you are on the Ring circuit or Radial circuit.

First thing you will need to double check your luminaire to see how it connected and be forewarned there may have two diffrent sets of conductor colours there is old verison and new verison.

The old one is black is line while red is netural

The new one is Brown for line while bleu is netural so just watch out the connections.

If you have two ways { three way for NA guys } look for brown or grey sleeved conductor that is a common point.

But do you have actually have a netural at the switch box? if so you will have no issue to run a receptale however if you run from ring circuit make sure you have fused plug there. { radial is not a issue at all }

Merci,
Marc

__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring in a 4-way Switch RickSene Electrical 5 04-09-2013 07:25 PM
Wiring double switch for new ceiling fan toolmanwannabe Electrical 17 11-15-2011 09:34 PM
Problem: Puck lights w/ touch-sensitive switch mapsedge Electrical 1 03-14-2011 07:20 AM
3-way light with a twist Jeepsail Electrical 14 05-18-2010 01:24 AM
Need help wiring two lights on one switch keano016 Electrical 7 01-18-2010 05:08 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.