Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-26-2013, 09:25 PM   #31
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 772
Share |
Default

How to check cable signal strength


hold up, important question: did anyone in this thread stay at a holiday inn express last night?

itsnotrequired is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2013, 09:29 PM   #32
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 6,756
Default

How to check cable signal strength


OTA signal levels are so low that losses in coax are nothing compared to the mechanical connections and antenna setup. One of the biggest issues is the Balun (300 ohm to 75 ohm converter) on the antenna and the connections on the antenna itself.

If you want a good read....do a Google on "Twin Lead"....lots of interesting stuff there....I think you will be surprised at what you find out.
__________________
"The dream is free but the hustle is sold separately."

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2013, 10:03 PM   #33
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 13,733
Default

How to check cable signal strength


Quote:
Originally Posted by Tonglebeak View Post
So you're trolling. Tell me how any system that is all CCS can work if its impossible like you claim. All of our hard line, from 412 to 860, is CCS. All of our drop and in house cable is CCS. All of this and I have no issues reading a 40mer, 0ber@-5db behind the set with a tight constellation. Boy oh boy how does it work!!??!!??
Do you care to rephrase that remark. I like it when someone gets backed into the corner (is you), you start degrading others on the forum.

As already stated, CCS is cheap, it is purchased by companies who think that they are saving a buck, when actually they are not.

Until you decide to stop acting like this, along with attempting to start a war on a subject you do not understand, I will just watch you flail your arms, while ignoring fact.

If you really want people to start listening, might want to stop using the T word, just because someone pulled facts to back up their statements, and you do not like, Noe understand it, due to it is over your head in understanding what is in those documents.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2013, 10:12 PM   #34
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 6,756
Default

How to check cable signal strength


Quote:
Originally Posted by itsnotrequired View Post
hold up, important question: did anyone in this thread stay at a holiday inn express last night?
Does Marriott count?

I've been in Texas for 6 weeks....I'm ready to go home....it was really fun telling my wife that I'm flying in Thanksgiving morning.....
__________________
"The dream is free but the hustle is sold separately."

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2013, 10:14 PM   #35
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Hagerstown, MD
Posts: 364
Default

How to check cable signal strength


I think adding gregzoll to my ignore list was the best decision I made since staying at a Holiday Inn. Marriott is decent too though.

Tonglebeak is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cable, electrical, rusty


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Any quality loss with HDMI to Component cable for PS3? CoconutPete Home Theater 10 12-10-2012 07:14 PM
I need to test a cable for a kitchen range justplumducky Electrical 4 10-21-2012 11:23 PM
Armored cable shell as conduit? sixspeed Electrical 13 10-18-2012 03:45 PM
Effects of electrician tape on cable richard7994 Electrical 4 08-11-2010 08:39 AM
Satellite vs. cable coaxial types? Badfish740 Home Theater 6 02-17-2009 11:00 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.