Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-12-2013, 03:49 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 4
Share |
Default

How can I wire my new replacement range hood/fan?


I suppose I'll end up calling an electrician but I'm fairly handy and willing to learn and try.

Here's the story. California home built in 1965. The old kitchen range hood was direct wired. It has been removed. There is now a metal conduit with one red wire and one white wire coming out of the ceiling.

The new range hood/fan has a 3 prong plug ready to be plugged into an outlet. Manual says its 120V, 60Hz.

Can I simply install a metal electric box in the ceiling area and hook up an outlet? What should I watch out for?

Thanks in advance.

Jack

alphajack7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 04:01 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 26,166
Default

How can I wire my new replacement range hood/fan?


Why not just install an old work box in the ceiling and plug it in?
http://www.bing.com/images/search?q=...497CAF&first=1

joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 04:28 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Apple Valley, MN, USA
Posts: 999
Send a message via AIM to theatretch85
Default

How can I wire my new replacement range hood/fan?


Quote:
Originally Posted by joecaption View Post
Why not just install an old work box in the ceiling and plug it in?
http://www.bing.com/images/search?q=...497CAF&first=1
The OP stated he has a metal conduit there currently, a metal box would be the best way to connect an outlet to the existing metal conduit. An old work box would be great if he had said there was romex in the ceiling.
theatretch85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 04:50 PM   #4
Member
 
Oso954's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Calif.
Posts: 1,489
Default

How can I wire my new replacement range hood/fan?


You need to worry about your ground. What type of "metal conduit" is that ?
If it is flexible, is it BX, AC, MC ?

You are probably better off calling in an electrician on this one.
Oso954 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 05:07 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 4
Default

How can I wire my new replacement range hood/fan?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Oso954 View Post
You need to worry about your ground. What type of "metal conduit" is that ?
If it is flexible, is it BX, AC, MC ?

You are probably better off calling in an electrician on this one.
I don't see any ground wire. Just flexible metal tube, about 3/4". original circa 1965. Not sure about BX,AC,MC.

Inside the conduit are just 2 wires, 1 red and 1 white. It was those 2 wires that wired up the 40 year old old range hood/fan/light.

Thanks for your help.

Jack
alphajack7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 05:18 PM   #6
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,797
Default

How can I wire my new replacement range hood/fan?


What kind of hood fan has a cord and plug? This is not a micro/hood is it?
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 05:35 PM   #7
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,336
Default

How can I wire my new replacement range hood/fan?


Per code, a cord connected range hood requires its own circuit.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
Code05 (01-13-2013), J. V. (01-13-2013), Jim Port (01-12-2013), Speedy Petey (01-12-2013)
Old 01-12-2013, 05:51 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 4
Default

How can I wire my new replacement range hood/fan?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
What kind of hood fan has a cord and plug? This is not a micro/hood is it?
Not a micro.

http://rangehoodreview.wordpress.com...-hood-gvai-30/
alphajack7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 05:51 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 4
Default

How can I wire my new replacement range hood/fan?


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
Per code, a cord connected range hood requires its own circuit.
Thanks for the info. I'll call an electrician.
alphajack7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 11:38 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,503
Default

How can I wire my new replacement range hood/fan?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
What kind of hood fan has a cord and plug? This is not a micro/hood is it?
Pete. This is the second time here recently that someone had a range hood with a manufacturers cord and plug on it.

I have never seen this myself. All the hoods I have ever used had a junction box and KO for a cable.

I don't get it? A range hoods wiring should be hidden IMO. Not plugged into a receptacle?
Any idea why some manufacturers are providing a cord and plug.
And can I remove the cord and plug and do it like I always have. Through the wall with NM and a NM connector?
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 12:00 PM   #11
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,497
Default

How can I wire my new replacement range hood/fan?


Maybe this is an effort to make it easier for an HO to install instead of needing to know how to wire something?
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
Speedy Petey (01-13-2013)
Old 01-13-2013, 12:09 PM   #12
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 6,981
Default

How can I wire my new replacement range hood/fan?


What you commonly find here in CA, they put a cabinet above the vent hood and put the outlet inside the cabinet....usually behind the vent pipe that goes up through the cabinet....

__________________
"The dream is free but the hustle is sold separately."

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Honeywell vision pro, fan always on? and True Steam problem c5sb HVAC 6 06-19-2012 09:08 PM
ceiling fan wicked97 Electrical 4 08-21-2011 08:12 AM
4 wire range hook up on 220 outlet greenhorn1 Electrical 7 08-12-2011 07:50 AM
convert 3 wire range junction box to receptacle filby Electrical 0 06-05-2011 01:33 AM
HALP! Master/Remote Dimmer troubles! Confuserated Electrical 9 02-12-2010 03:30 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.