Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-06-2007, 12:14 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: wilmington, nc
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

how can i tell if i have 60, 100 or 200a service?


My house desperately needs a new pannel. How can i tell what amount of amps are comming in to my house so i know what kind to buy? i called the power company and they said that info is not kept on file. also, i can't find it on the meter or the current box. Thanx!

southern yankee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2007, 12:24 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,497
Default

how can i tell if i have 60, 100 or 200a service?


Your main circuit breaker in your box generally has the amperage printed on the end of the lever. However,sometimes someone switched boxes or main breakers without upgrading the service wiring producing a dangerous situation. An electrician can help you identify what you have.

jogr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2007, 05:35 PM   #3
Master Electrician
 
JohnJ0906's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 332
Default

how can i tell if i have 60, 100 or 200a service?


Is there a main breaker in the panel? If so, the amperage will be on the breaker. If not, can you see what size and material the wire is? (If the service is cable, it will be printed on the outside of the wire..... if you can still read it )
__________________
John from Baltimore
One Day at a Time
"Experience is what you get when you were expecting something else"
"The bitterness of low quality lingers long after the sweetness of low cost is forgotten"
JohnJ0906 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2007, 09:58 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: wilmington, nc
Posts: 3
Question

how can i tell if i have 60, 100 or 200a service?


no, there is no main disconnect and there is nothing visible on the wires going in above the pannel and the wires from the meter going back up inside the wall are in a plastic pipe, there is also nothing written on the pannel itself... i'm worried that my service is really low because there are only 4 spots for breakers and there are only 10amp breakers in those 4. Are there any other ways to tell?
southern yankee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2007, 10:48 PM   #5
So Cal Electrician
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: South OC, Cali
Posts: 88
Send a message via Yahoo to hbsparky
Default

how can i tell if i have 60, 100 or 200a service?


sounds like an old square d panel, I just replaced one of those, there is no main, but the panel I just replaced, the wire size was #6 coming into the panel, which would mean 50 amp. You need to upgrade, and probably upgrade the wiring to the house, as it is probably cloth wire with no ground. This is not a diy project, as permits will need to be pulled from the AHJ, the power company will have to be involved, and an electrician will have to be hired. Plan on spending 1000-2500 dollars depending on where you live and what you get.
__________________
Well....Butter my butt and call me a biscuit!
hbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2007, 11:36 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: wilmington, nc
Posts: 3
Default

how can i tell if i have 60, 100 or 200a service?


nooooooooooooooooooooooo!!!!!
so sad.........
i'll start calling around for the pros
thanx for the help
southern yankee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2007, 09:57 PM   #7
Custom Cabinet Maker
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Netcong NJ
Posts: 1,097
Default

how can i tell if i have 60, 100 or 200a service?


you will be safer,better off and cheaper in the end. Think of all the xtra time you get to go fishin knowin it was done right.
JackM

skymaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
200 amp panel with a 100 amp service? alexz Electrical 10 07-29-2007 10:00 PM
upgrading service cable Clutchcargo Electrical 1 06-22-2007 10:04 AM
Service upgrade rondo Electrical 1 05-21-2007 06:19 PM
Suspected open/loose service neutral mrtomwj Electrical 5 09-28-2006 08:46 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.