How To Bypass Switch - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-12-2013, 02:26 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: North Dakota
Posts: 231
Rewards Points: 156
Default

How to bypass switch


Hello, I need to create a bypass for this type of switch. This switch is on an old riding lawn mower. I could tape down the button but would rather bypass it. I would of posted this in the lawn care section but this is more electrical I would imagine.

http://www.amazon.com/104445X-Interl...d_sim_sbs_lg_2


thanks

Advertisement

jburchill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2013, 02:32 PM   #2
Member
 
Oso954's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Calif.
Posts: 1,817
Rewards Points: 1,514
Default

How to bypass switch


Without a good reason given, why would someone tell you how to bypass a safety interlock switch ?

Advertisement

Oso954 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2013, 02:34 PM   #3
custom user
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Pacific NW
Posts: 239
Rewards Points: 150
Default

How to bypass switch


It just connects the two conductors. Wire them together. I can't speak about the safety though, I don't know what the switch is for.
JasperST is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to JasperST For This Useful Post:
jburchill (06-14-2013)
Old 06-12-2013, 03:04 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,629
Rewards Points: 2,166
Default

How to bypass switch


Thats most likely a seat switch.
hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2013, 04:03 PM   #5
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,048
Rewards Points: 2,894
Default

How to bypass switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by Oso954 View Post
Without a good reason given, why would someone tell you how to bypass a safety interlock switch ?
How about Darwin was wrong?
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2013, 04:50 PM   #6
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,964
Rewards Points: 2,324
Default

How to bypass switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by JasperST View Post
It just connects the two conductors. Wire them together. I can't speak about the safety though, I don't know what the switch is for.
It is a kill switch for the seat so the mower shuts off when you get off, or fall out of the seat.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2013, 05:06 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: North Dakota
Posts: 231
Rewards Points: 156
Default

How to bypass switch


its for the disengagement of the blade. The mower already starts up with the blades going. But when the lever is in the disengaged position the belt rubs against the mower deck. And the pulleys rub against the break pads. Causing it to start hard and wear out the belt. So I figured I'd just start the mower with the deck in the second highest position.

Yes I know its not safe, I've been trying to figure out how to get the disengagement to work. So if I need to get off the mower, I'll just shut it off, then get back on and start it up again.
jburchill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2013, 09:29 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,720
Rewards Points: 2,400
Default

How to bypass switch


You would be better off finding a mechanical solution for your problem,
rather than defeating the safety system of the mower.

You should consider some sort of tension pulley to keep the belt
away from the deck.
If you can't figure it out, post a picture of the underside of the deck
clearly showing the pulley system and the problem area.
Then we can find a solution for you !
dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2013, 09:40 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,646
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

How to bypass switch


sounds like things are not adjusted like they should be. i would think that it was not designed and manufactured with all that rubbing designed into it.
DannyT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2013, 10:33 PM   #10
Member
 
JuzRick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: SC
Posts: 132
Rewards Points: 75
Thumbs up

How to bypass switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by dmxtothemax View Post
You would be better off finding a mechanical solution for your problem,
rather than defeating the safety system of the mower.

You should consider some sort of tension pulley to keep the belt
away from the deck.
If you can't figure it out, post a picture of the underside of the deck
clearly showing the pulley system and the problem area.
Then we can find a solution for you !
JuzRick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2013, 02:33 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Eighty Four, Pa.15330
Posts: 1,414
Rewards Points: 826
Default

How to bypass switch


This post should be closed due to discussing bypassing safety devices.
bobelectric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2013, 07:05 AM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: PENNSYLVANIA
Posts: 2,259
Rewards Points: 1,046
Default

How to bypass switch


Safety's often are the easiest things to bypass on a lot of things. They should never be bypassed.

The rubbing and wearing of belts should be investigated and repaired , leave the switch alone.
__________________
No Warranty Means- If it breaks in half you get to keep both halves.
COLDIRON is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2013, 12:35 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,510
Rewards Points: 2,008
Default

How to bypass switch


It is simple to do and I have done it on my own riding mower.

I cannot tell you how, because if you get hurt, I might get hurt.

But it is very easy if you want to do it.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2013, 01:15 PM   #14
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,385
Rewards Points: 3,564
Blog Entries: 4
Default

How to bypass switch


It depends if the switch closes or opens when sit on it.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2013, 01:19 PM   #15
Bill Kearney
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Bethesda, MD USA
Posts: 1,979
Rewards Points: 1,126
Default

How to bypass switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by jburchill View Post
its for the disengagement of the blade. The mower already starts up with the blades going. But when the lever is in the disengaged position the belt rubs against the mower deck. And the pulleys rub against the break pads. Causing it to start hard and wear out the belt.
So why not get THAT fixed instead?

Advertisement

wkearney99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
confused on switch replacement fullpint Electrical 6 07-11-2011 09:39 AM
bypass pressure switch and draft limit switch vikingur HVAC 2 11-24-2010 05:55 PM
bypass motion sensing switch rickdog Electrical 5 04-01-2010 11:06 PM
4 way switch confusion Richo Electrical 10 04-09-2009 08:11 AM
Replacing a bathroom fan switch cmacjr22 Electrical 4 11-04-2008 07:14 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts