How Big Of A Breaker Box Will I Need For My New Home? - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical


Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-19-2007, 05:42 AM   #16
Once fried, twice shy.
elkangorito's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Thailand
Posts: 251
Rewards Points: 250

How big of a breaker box will I need for my new home?

Just you fellas in the US have such a thing called a Maximum Demand calculation? In Australia, it is a part of the Wiring Rules & must be adhered to.

Generally speaking, a standard single story 3 bedroom home that occupies no more than 5 people, will have a standard 80 Amp supply (at 240v single phase). Of course, this translates to about 160 Amps at 120v single phase.

If in doubt, the electrician performs a Maximum Demand calculation, which can be done using a few different methods.


Switchboard design engineer & Licensed Electrician (Australia).
elkangorito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2007, 06:58 AM   #17
Licensed Electrical Cont.
Speedy Petey's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 7,305
Rewards Points: 962

How big of a breaker box will I need for my new home?

Sure, we do what is similarly called a "demand load calculation", or "load calc" for short. This is Article 220 in our NEC.

We don't use the 80a@240v = 160a@120v analogy though. This is really a meaningless number over here.
Residentially it's just 100A service, 150A, 200A, and 400A (really 320A) services.
120/240v single phase is assumed for residential.
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2007, 09:29 AM   #18
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 561
Rewards Points: 500

How big of a breaker box will I need for my new home?

I heard from 2 sources now that our local POCO will not allow less than a 200a service on any residence. 100a services allowed only for freestanding signs and in multiple occupancy dwellings like apartment/co op complexes.

IMHO it's overkill when a residence is heating, cooking, and clothes drying with gas, but there are no exceptions when alternate fuels are available and utilized. I do agree however that an underground service should be 200a, even if the lower 1/2 was only 100.
LawnGuyLandSparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2007, 01:13 PM   #19
" Euro " electrician
frenchelectrican's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000

How big of a breaker box will I need for my new home?

here our POCO useally ask min of 100 amp 1 supply for all loads [ both resdentail and commercal]

but for 3 it will usally ask for 200 amp but no longer provide delta connection for new comusters.

but instering twist with UG [ underground ] service it automatically 200 amp [or larger]reguard which phase system you use.

Merci, Marc


frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NC code for Breaker amperage rating in new home for Water Heater, Dryer, Range? lynne Electrical 5 08-26-2007 09:44 PM
Breaker Buzz SkipI Electrical 2 07-13-2007 08:48 PM

Top of Page | View New Posts