How Big Of A Breaker Box Will I Need For My New Home? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 11-16-2007, 05:17 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

How big of a breaker box will I need for my new home?

OK, I will be starting to build a new home very soon, and need to figure out what size of breaker box to install. The breaker box will be put in the laundry room, against an interior wall with attic space directly above, if that makes any difference. I live in a jursidiction in which I can pull my own electrical permit, and if I need to save the case, I plan to do all the wiring up to the box (I will get an electrician to tie the breakers up, and then to the main line.) I am an aerospace engineer and have worked on plenty of electrical projects, so I think that I know how to do this, including following codes.

Anyway, everything starts with the breaker box. I will have the standard requirements of a 5 BR home, but also for my gameroom, I will need 7 x 20A circuits. My question is how big of a box (both number of circuits and total capacity.)

As a side question, I have heard that when a breaker box is rated as 200A, that is for 240V, so it is equivalent to 400A at 120V. Is this accurate?

Advertisement

swampwiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2007, 05:31 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor

Rewards Points: 2,306

http://www.electricalknowledge.com/SFDLoadCalc.asp

This will get you started.
I'm already thinking that with the game room, kitchen circuits, laundry circuit, and assuming electric heat and cooling and cooking, you will need a 400 amp service with at least 2 40 circuit 200 amp panels.

The last statement you made is incorrect.
A 200 amp panel is 200 amps per leg.

Advertisement

Old 11-16-2007, 06:00 PM   #3

Rewards Points: 75