How To Add An Outlet? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-17-2012, 04:38 PM   #1
Newbie
 
blksith0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

How to Add an Outlet?


Hi, so I want to add an outlet to a wall, and I'm not sure how most people go about this, but I figured I would try and run an extension cord down the inside of the wall from the attic.
However I now realize that there's a lot of insulation in the way, so maybe not.

So how should I add an outlet to my wall?

Thanks

Advertisement

blksith0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 04:43 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Eighty Four, Pa.15330
Posts: 1,412
Rewards Points: 822
Default

How to Add an Outlet?


You are off to a bad start. Call a capable electrician.

Advertisement

bobelectric is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to bobelectric For This Useful Post:
jbfan (11-18-2012)
Old 11-17-2012, 04:52 PM   #3
Newbie
 
blksith0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

How to Add an Outlet?


I also considered getting one of those socket to outlet converters and running an extension cord down from there.

Because there's a light on the ceiling, so it wouldn't look good, but it might work. However there's no ground wire on those, so I don't think it would fit.
blksith0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 05:00 PM   #4
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,423
Rewards Points: 2,508
Default

How to Add an Outlet?


Not good. What are you wanting to add the new outlet for? It is not that hard to do, but can be done.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 05:12 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 27,781
Rewards Points: 678
Default

How to Add an Outlet?


Has to have a ground and there's no excuse to use an extention cord to do this!!!
Is there another outlet along that wall?
Is there access below the house? Crawl space, basement?
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 05:16 PM   #6
Newbie
 
blksith0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

How to Add an Outlet?


Aw, but I already bought the extension cord, and the outlet, and a saw.
There's not really another outlet close by, and no basement.
Maybe I should just call an electrician.
blksith0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 05:28 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 53
Rewards Points: 75
Default

How to Add an Outlet?


Quote:
Originally Posted by blksith0 View Post
Aw, but I already bought the extension cord, and the outlet, and a saw.
There's not really another outlet close by, and no basement.
Maybe I should just call an electrician.
Well in that case, go ahead and give it the old college try
toastandjam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 06:06 PM   #8
Pure Genius
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Dayton OH
Posts: 223
Rewards Points: 150
Default

How to Add an Outlet?


Quote:
Originally Posted by blksith0
Aw, but I already bought the extension cord, and the outlet, and a saw.
There's not really another outlet close by, and no basement.
Maybe I should just call an electrician.
I smell a troll.
Dierte is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to Dierte For This Useful Post:
gregzoll (11-17-2012), jbfan (11-18-2012), jrclen (11-17-2012), rjniles (11-17-2012), Techy (11-17-2012)
Old 11-17-2012, 07:56 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 89
Rewards Points: 75
Default

How to Add an Outlet?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Dierte View Post
I smell a troll.
Ya think?
parman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 10:16 PM   #10
Newbie
 
blksith0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Talking

How to Add an Outlet?


Well I'm sorry.

But if I called an electrician, how would he go about adding an outlet to the the wall? Any guides or tutorials anyone would recommend?
blksith0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 10:21 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 27,781
Rewards Points: 678
Default

How to Add an Outlet?


He would use real romex wiring and just tap off of another outlet in most cases. And run the wires through the walls.
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 01:52 AM   #12
Newbie
 
blksith0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

How to Add an Outlet?


Thanks, would tapping off another outlet be really difficult if the other outlet is about 12 feet away? I'm not sure how I would get the wires to go all the way to the other side there.

What would you do if there were no other outlets to use?
blksith0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 07:20 AM   #13
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

How to Add an Outlet?


Quote:
Originally Posted by blksith0 View Post
Aw, but I already bought the extension cord, and the outlet, and a saw.
There's not really another outlet close by, and no basement.
Maybe I should just call an electrician.
The fact that you bought the wrong materials and will incur additional expense getting the right stuff does not make it OK to use the wrong stuff.

Quote:
Originally Posted by blksith0 View Post
Well I'm sorry.

But if I called an electrician, how would he go about adding an outlet to the the wall? Any guides or tutorials anyone would recommend?
An electrician would not have and need for "guides or tutorials."

Quote:
Originally Posted by blksith0 View Post
Thanks, would tapping off another outlet be really difficult if the other outlet is about 12 feet away? I'm not sure how I would get the wires to go all the way to the other side there.

What would you do if there were no other outlets to use?
Call the electrician. You're in way over your head on this one.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to kbsparky For This Useful Post:
Jess82 (11-18-2012), Jim Port (11-18-2012)
Old 11-18-2012, 10:04 AM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

How to Add an Outlet?


Quote:
Originally Posted by blksith0
Aw, but I already bought the extension cord, and the outlet, and a saw.
There's not really another outlet close by, and no basement.
Maybe I should just call an electrician.
Call an electrician!

The purpose behind code is first and foremost, safety and that would mean getting rid of extension cords! They are the cause of many fires and to run one in the walls you might as well kiss your house goodbye now.
Jess82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 08:50 PM   #15
Member
 
Rochsolid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Winnipeg, MB, Canada
Posts: 97
Rewards Points: 75
Default

How to Add an Outlet?


Pull a new line from your existing plug up the wall and I to your attic, and drop it down the wall to where you want your new plug. Install a cut in box for your plug and install the plug. DO NOT fish a extension cord down your wall!!! If you feel you cannot complete this job safely and to code, then my advice is to hire an electrician for this. Good luck

Advertisement

Rochsolid is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Rochsolid For This Useful Post:
blksith0 (11-19-2012), Jess82 (11-19-2012)
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
small secondary countertop outlet issue rasz Electrical 8 11-07-2011 05:14 PM
Odd voltages at outlet TJF Electrical 12 11-01-2011 10:13 PM
Switched Outlet Issue mjm Electrical 11 01-23-2011 08:41 AM
Changing Two Gang Outlet to Three Gang Outlet vbullinger Electrical 9 01-10-2011 06:13 PM
Wiring a GFCI Outdoor Outlet from an Inside Outlet - Parallel or Series? Pacal Electrical 28 11-13-2010 04:36 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts