Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-05-2011, 08:47 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

how to


I have a stove that does not have a power cord on it. My outlet is 4 prong, so I bought a 4 prong cord; it has a red, black, green, and white wires on it. How do I wire it to my stove (GE)??????????????

still is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2011, 08:52 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 0
Default

how to


Easy. Connect the black, red, and white wires to the corresponding terminals on your stove's wiring terminal block.

The green connects to the frame of the appliance.

IF there is a bonding jumper that connects the white wire to the frame of the appliance, remove it.

Care to take a picture of your stove's wiring terminal block and upload it here?

__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.