Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-27-2012, 06:14 PM   #31
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 15
Share |
Default

House is only 120?


Okay... Thanks for the input... Hard to get a question answered around here it seems

benbradford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 10:08 AM   #32
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Near Philly
Posts: 2,027
Default

House is only 120?


"Hard to get a question answered around here it seems"
Well, I think it went pretty well considering it took to your post at #30 to say you didn't own the house.
And the price you paid was excellent!
bob22 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to bob22 For This Useful Post:
jbfan (08-28-2012), Techy (08-28-2012)
Old 08-28-2012, 01:57 PM   #33
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 15
Default

House is only 120?


ahh, yes. However, it is similar to asking how to change the oil on a car, and being told that I need to change the tags. As far as the price, free advice, is always as good as what you pay for it...

Not crapping on the site, it seems fantastic. Just trying to get some information from people who know more than me, and seem to be hitting a wall.
benbradford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2012, 10:43 AM   #34
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,497
Default

House is only 120?


Quote:
Originally Posted by benbradford View Post
...Not crapping on the site, it seems fantastic. Just trying to get some information from people who know more than me, and seem to be hitting a wall.
The thing is there has been great loss of life and property due to improper wiring in the past. If you are not a trained and licensed electrician, it is one thing to do your own electrical work on your own home, but quite another to do electrical work on a rental or a business where other people's lives are at stake. Quite common for people to move out of rentals, then someone else moves in.

The right way to do this, if you plan on living there a long time, is to get permission from the landlord to hire a licensed electrician to do the work. And get an electrical permit. This could include upgrading the meter and service. And work out with the landlord who pays for what. You may have to pay for everything. Or maybe the landlord will pay for some of the work?

Then if there is an electrical fire or someone gets electrocuted in the future, you and the landlord are protected. However when the work is done by a pro and inspected, that is very unlikely to happen.

You also have the option to move elsewhere.

Billy_Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My house's previous owner - DIY horror stories Leah Frances General DIY Discussions 128 03-18-2014 06:41 AM
Attaching wood fence to house TheCowGod Building & Construction 5 04-13-2012 03:57 PM
Attach ledger to vinyl sided house JamyTheBuilder Building & Construction 3 03-14-2012 02:54 PM
I have Central Heating & Air, but house won't cool down..HELP!! exiledone1 HVAC 13 07-10-2009 10:09 PM
Moving a House 70 miles- Practical? GOTHICrevivalRULES Building & Construction 19 11-27-2008 08:58 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.