Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-06-2009, 12:06 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 39
Rewards Points: 25
Default

House Monitoring Using Already Installed Alarm System


I bought a new home which had a DSC alarm system installed in it. Iím interested in setting up some kind of monitoring for my house. I could have used a local security company for monitoring, but they all require you to have a traditional phone. I donít have one; Iíve VOIP. I could opt for their wireless monitoring service, but it will cost me a fortune.

I was wondering if anybody knew of any equipment that I can use to connect my alarm system to an existing VOIP network or may be my internet service that would alert me if something happens at my house. I know that using internet is not a reliable option, but at least something is better than nothing. Can you please advise me as to how I can accomplish this goal on my own? Any advice would be greatly helpful.

Thanks,
John

kirridam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2009, 01:30 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 1,202
Rewards Points: 500
Default

House Monitoring Using Already Installed Alarm System


I don't see why the system cannot use the VoIP, since it "looks" just like a phone line to telephone, fax, etc devices.
Check this with your VoIP provider.

__________________

KE2KB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2009, 07:37 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 25
Rewards Points: 10
Default

House Monitoring Using Already Installed Alarm System


The best thing to do is call your VOIP provider and ask if there are any monitoring systems that their system is compatible with. That will save you a lot of time and research. A VOIP phone line does not "look" exactly like a traditional phone line to alarm systems and fax machines. It has something to do with the rate at with the information is sent over the line. There are also issues with the initial "handshake."

I was in your same position and opted for internet monitoring. You might want to look at a service from Next Alarm. Also, make sure your alarm has not been locked out by the company that installed it.
finnimus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
replumbing an old house simonfrog Plumbing 7 01-30-2012 04:45 AM
Is 1/2 Pex more restrictive than 1/2 copper? twilightcall Plumbing 19 06-24-2008 07:32 AM
"New: House, and need some advise... dcd22 General DIY Discussions 9 06-17-2008 07:12 AM
Size A/C system properly 70stang HVAC 1 03-26-2006 07:22 PM
Replace furnace, coil and duct system sps123 HVAC 2 01-07-2006 10:56 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.