Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-01-2009, 01:10 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: s.w. wash.
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Post

house electrical problem


Hi, to all New member here. Installed a dryer vent and when cutting through wall made contact with wire that supplied power to wall outlets, now have no power to several outlets & no power to wires at first outlet. Breaker did not pop. Please help !!

mxtr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2009, 01:21 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 0
Default

house electrical problem


You've cut a wire
You will need to open up the wall & run a new wire
Or install some junction boxes & splice in a piece if wire
If you don't feel comfortable doing this hire an electrician

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2009, 01:32 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: s.w. wash.
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 0
Default

house electrical problem


Thanks, Scuba Dave But the wire is not cut through that was the first thing I checked.
mxtr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2009, 01:37 PM   #4
Member
 
300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 630
Rewards Points: 0
Post

house electrical problem


Is there a Gfci outlet around ? You could have triped the Gfci.You could also shut all the breakers off and turn them all back on sometimes it's hard to tell when a breaker is triped.
300zx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2009, 01:39 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 951
Rewards Points: 0
Default

house electrical problem


I'm going to guess that the wire is downstream of a GFCI outlet, that the saw cut the insulation, and tripped the GFI.

If the insulation is cut, you still have to do the repair as outlined above.
pyper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2009, 02:23 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: s.w. wash.
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 0
Default

house electrical problem


There is no GFCI upstream or dwnstream but I did knick the insulation,these are great suggestions let's keep trying - thanks !
mxtr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2009, 03:04 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 951
Rewards Points: 0
Default

house electrical problem


How close is the nearest outlet?

If it isn't fastened properly perhaps when you hit the wire it shook the conductors loose. Seems like a long shot.
pyper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2009, 03:05 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Homestead,Pa
Posts: 109
Rewards Points: 0
Default

house electrical problem


Just because you didn't cut all the way threw the wire, does not mean it is not damaged.
Paelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2009, 03:17 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 0
Default

house electrical problem


Yeah...mine wasn't really a suggestion - it's what you need to do
Possible a loose conenction in a nearby outlet....but I doubt it
Look for a burn mark on the blade or wire - tho if going fast enough might not be there
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2009, 06:08 PM   #10
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,793
Rewards Points: 18
Default

house electrical problem


Some breakers that trip never look tripped.
What brand of breakers do you have?
To reset the breaker, it must be turned off, then turned on.

Agreed that if the wire is damaged, it must be repaired in a safe and code compliant way.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2009, 06:20 PM   #11
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,565
Rewards Points: 58
Default

house electrical problem


If you tripped the breaker or lost power then the wire is damaged enough that it need to be replaced. All splices must be in accessible junction boxes. You can't just repair it and bury it inside the wall.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2009, 07:19 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: s.w. wash.
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 0
Default

house electrical problem


Thanks to everyone that responded, they are all very good answers. Now to carry on I did find where the insulation was caught by recip. saw it's not a very big bare spot maybe 3/8" and I can see wires, but its in a real tight spot to get to - from outside wall down thru floor into basement did check the saw blade and it did have burn marks - have two circuit breakers for basement neither one was tripped do I still have to access the wire and replace that section ( junction box) ? as you can tell I dont have much experience with electricity. Thanks again for the help!!!
mxtr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2009, 07:25 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Homestead,Pa
Posts: 109
Rewards Points: 0
Default

house electrical problem


Yes you need to replace the wire. You can use a j/b if it will be accessible, if not you will have to run a new wire completely. Also you need to locate the breaker for this and shut it off, if it did not already trip!

Last edited by Paelectrican; 12-01-2009 at 07:29 PM.
Paelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2009, 08:04 PM   #14
Learning by Doing
 
Leah Frances's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Easton, Maryland
Posts: 3,156
Rewards Points: 0
Blog Entries: 7
Default

house electrical problem


MXTR - a host of super-helpful and truly knowledgeable have offered you ONE option for your damaged wire. Sorry, no matter how small the damage. You HAVE GOT to fix it. Welcome, we'll be happy to help (and by 'we' I mean people who know what they're talking about).
__________________
If I could only remember to THINK about what I was doing before I did it.
Leah Frances is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2009, 11:35 AM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: s.w. wash.
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 0
Smile

house electrical problem


Thank's again to suggestor's Input is appreciated I will try to find an access to wire and repair if not - looks like I'll find an electrician. Better Safe Than Sorry !!!!!!! Thanks again - Mxtr

mxtr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Slight electrical current in bathroom faucet water + other unusual electrical events story Electrical 9 09-16-2009 10:28 PM
Whole house fan electrical install shalmi Electrical 3 07-01-2009 11:51 AM
House electrical wiring issue. gnidaerd General DIY Discussions 5 06-07-2009 02:42 AM
electrical service for new house ehurlbut Electrical 4 08-20-2008 08:14 PM
Perplexing electrical problem prglor Electrical 4 05-30-2007 02:20 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.